Capsule Outfit #31

chambray shirt ivory sweater black jeans brown boots by 14 shades of grey

This isn’t what it looks like.

Actually, no. This is exactly what it looks like – I got another sweater for the capsule. I don’t even have any excuse for buying it, I just liked it. And as I was trying to think about which piece I could replace in the capsule, I realized I may be going about this whole “building a capsule wardrobe” thing the wrong way. Yeah, I admit it. If this was an experiment, then my method was incorrect from the get-go, and the experiment would be bound to fail.

Here is what I came up with: I shouldn’t start by picking out an arbitrary number of items that I think are going to work. It failed because I couldn’t possibly predict what the weather was going to be like, and something I thought was great three months ago may not fit me that well now. Instead, what I should do is to wear all the things from my closet as usual, and at the end of that season, pick out the items that I wear the most, and put those into my capsule. My goal is to build a cohesive year-round closet, so culling would certainly make more sense than picking blindly.

But I still have a month left in this Fall/Winter capsule, and I’m going to stick with it. I just won’t bother with maintaining the “40 items” anymore. And for the Winter/Spring capsule, I’m going to try this new method, to see how well it turns out. What do you guys think? If you have tried a capsule (or are doing it now), is there any piece of insight you can share?

chambray shirt ivory sweater black jeans by 14 shades of greychambray shirt ivory sweater black jeans by 14 shades of grey

chambray shirt ivory sweater apple brooch by 14 shades of greychambray shirt ivory sweater black jeans brown boots by 14 shades of grey

Sweater: local shop, Shirt: Esprit, Jeans: Hermes, Boots: Aldo, Brooch: vintage

2 Comments on “Capsule Outfit #31”

  1. I love your apple brooch; that’s just too cute!


Leave a Reply

