Capsule Outfit #23/Music Question

mustard cardigan black jeans double scarves black booties by 14 shades of grey

For this week’s SIA, inspired by “Lady Folding a Letter” by Rococo artist, Louise-Elizabeth Vigée Le Brun, I pulled from my capsule wardrobe again – mustard cardigan, black jeans, white and blue scarves, and black boots. Simple. The floral print on my boots is to represent the rich colors and details of the original painting – I know, I know, there’s no floral in the painting, but that’s why it’s an interpretation, right?

I’ll be back tomorrow with a full round-up post (a lot of variety this week, which I love). Before that, though, let me ask you guys an unrelated question: what kind of music do you listen to when you need some energy boost? I listen to music when I work, and with my increasingly heavy work load, I need something a bit energetic to keep me concentrated, but I can’t stand pop or dance (except electronic), and my usual brand of “complain indie rock” can get on my nerves after a while. So any recommendation? Lately I’ve been listening to soundtracks (Tron: Legacy and Pacific Rim, mostly) as well as some comedy (Dylan Moran, his grumpiness is really helpful for when I’m reading a particularly bad script, and Bo Burnham), but any suggestion is welcome.

mustard cardigan black jeans double scarves black booties by 14 shades of greymustard cardigan black jeans double scarves by 14 shades of grey

mustard cardigan double scarves by 14 shades of greyblack jeans black booties by 14 shades of grey

Oh and in case you’re interested, here is how I wore my scarves – just double them, loop them up, and wound around like you would a normal scarf:

mustard cardigan black jeans double scarves by 14 shades of greymustard cardigan black jeans double scarves by 14 shades of grey

Cardigan: Target (thrifted), Jeans: Hermes, Boots: Betts, Blue scarf: borrowed from my mom, White scarf: Target

4 Comments on “Capsule Outfit #23/Music Question”

  1. Great idea with the scarf! And the floral print on your shoes echoes the colors of the paintings so I’d say they’re perfect 🙂

  2. I love the color of the cardigan on you! Very pretty!

    And random but I’d love if you shared this post on my new Weekend Snapshots link up. The link-up just went live today!

    http://www.herheartlandsoul.com/weekend-snapshots-linkup/

  3. Great casual interpretation of this painting! The boots are the perfect finishing touch — and very cool trick with the scarves! 🙂

  4. I didn’t even notice that you were wearing two scarves! Brilliant!


Leave a Reply

