Capsule Outfit #17

navy ikat shirt blue jeans red scarf black heels by 14 shades of grey

Remember how I always say we don’t have much of a fall around here? It is usually still warm by late October, then comes November and bam, a cold snap. This year, though, we seem to have more of an actual fall season, with crisp, cool mornings and nights, and warm days. Apparently (according to my parents anyway), this is because it’s an intercalary year in the lunar calendar, which means the lunar year has 13 months instead of 12, so the 10 days or so of fall weather we usually have every year is stretched out into a whole month. I don’t know, my mom gave me this long-winded explanation about how intercalation works, but I was pretty sure my eyes glazed over half-way through it. I just know that I would’ve really enjoyed this kind of weather, had I picked out enough clothes for it in my capsule. Now I’m wearing the same shit over and over again and I actually want it to get colder just so I could change up my look a bit… I’m just never happy, am I?

navy ikat shirt blue jeans red scarf black heels by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt blue jeans red scarf by 14 shades of grey

 navy ikat shirt red scarf by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt blue jeans red scarf black heels by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: C-Wonder, Jeans: Mango, Scarf: Icing, Belt & Heels: hand-me-down

5 Comments on “Capsule Outfit #17”

  1. kezzie says:

    The shirt is super!

  2. Meghan says:

    The moon has so much to do with our weather. I feel like we’re a whole season ahead of where we usually are on the calendar here. The weather was exceptionally cooler (still warm) but much cooler than normal for an October. It makes for great scarf weather, which I love your’s.

  3. Mike says:

    I noticed that the weather where I am is unusually cold for this time of year too. Sure it’s October and it should be cooler than August or September, but when it starts dropping into the low 50s, and even the 40s this early in the season, something’s wrong.
    I think it has something to do with leap year Salazar. I’m not much of an astronomer but I know that there are actually 365 and one quarter days (like .24 or something) each year and in order to keep our calendars in sync with the rotation of the Earth around the Sun, we have to “add” an extra day every 4 years. I don’t know. I looked up the word intercalation, and I saw that the words “leap day” came up so I assumed that’s what your parents were talking about. And where does that 13th month come from anyway?

    • Salazar says:

      I asked my mom the same question, where does that 13th month come from?! And here’s the gist of her explanation of intercalation in lunar calendar: a lunar month is made up of one cycle of the moon, which comes out to about 28 point something days, so every few years, those extra days add up to a whole month. I think. I don’t know. I figure it’s kind of the same principle as leap year, only with months instead of days. It’s confusing.

      • Mike says:

        You know Salazar, I was sort of thinking the same thing as your mom. I was mulling over this today while at work and I started thinking that if we have to “add” an extra day every 4 years, after about a 28 year period or so, we would have 7 extra days in that time frame.
        And if you multiply 28 years by 4, you get 112 years. So mathematically, those extra days we add every 4 years would eventually add up to that mystery month. I came up with this in thinking that within this 28 year period, we do the leap year thing 7 times, 4×7=28. So 28 “leap days occur within a 112 time period. I don’t know either. That’s what I came up with using math but I’m probably wrong. It is confusing. Our Gregorian calendar is weird.
        Your mom is probably closer to the truth. I was calculating all of this while working today trying to figure out why this is so.


Leave a Reply

