Capsule Outfit #10

black striped top black jeans black booties by 14 shades of grey

This isn’t what it looks like. OK, that’s not true, this is exactly what it looks like – I’ve replaced another piece in my capsule wardrobe with this new top. But I can explain! After trying on my striped top from the other day, I realize it doesn’t fit me the way I like – it’s pretty form-fitting, and I like something a bit looser. Then I saw this on sale and I couldn’t help myself.

But that’s the thing about capsule wardrobes: they’re not going to be perfect right away. My goal in doing these seasonal capsules is to figure out a complete closet with pieces that work well together, a closet with no “orphans” or “holes”, a closet that I only need to replace if something wears out, instead of buying new things every season. So, as I slowly figure it out, there are going to be changes. As long as I don’t end up buying an entirely new wardrobe by the end of the season, I’ll count that as a success.

P/S: There are three different patterns in this outfit, but it’s not noticeable, is it?

P/P/S: Yes, I’ve worn these jeans for three days in a row on. What of it?

black striped top black jeans polka dot scarf by 14 shades of greyblack striped top black jeans by 14 shades of grey

black jeans black booties by 14 shades of greyblack striped top polka dot scarf by 14 shades of grey

Top: Forever21, Jeans: Hermes, Scarf: Target, Boots: Betts

4 Comments on “Capsule Outfit #10”

  1. I think for the first try, it’s good to be realizing what works on you and what doesn’t! Isn’t that kind of the point, to work your way through a season and figure out what’s working so that you can better create a good, solid closet?
    I didn’t even notice the three patterns in your outfit until you said something. Haha! Sneaky.

  2. I love that you’re posting all these outfits and admitting you’ve worn the same jeans three days in a row! Sometimes I feel like I’m not allowed to wear the same thing in multiple back-to-back posts but clearly this is a great way to show how versatile something is.

  3. Meghan says:

    That’s quite alright for you to switch something out. For my late summer one, I wish I had, and I didn’t. It was difficult trying to work with pieces that really just needed to be let go of. I’m excited for this fall one so far. I’ve been adding some pieces and having to be brutally honest with myself about others.

  4. Those jeans are amazing. Keep wearing them. And I really like the new top!


Leave a Reply

