Capsule Wardrobe, Fall/Winter 2014

Before I started showing you guys the pieces I’ve picked for my capsule, I’m going to talk a bit about my process first. I have to say, I might have shot myself in the foot with this capsule, because the weather is going to change so much from October to December that I had to pick things that work for both warm and cool weather, which is why I ended up with more pieces than I’d like.

This being my first capsule, I didn’t think too much about a defined color scheme or anything like that. Mostly I just chose the ones that I know are easy to style, though I’d definitely tried to pick pieces that will go relatively well together. I’m also going to give myself a lot of flexibility as well, and if a piece isn’t working, I would swap it out.

So, without further ado, here’s my fall/winter capsule wardrobe:

capsule-tops

8 Tops: polka dot chambray shirt, plaid flannel shirt, chambray shirt, white button-up (new), lace tee (new), gray tee, navy striped top, red striped top navy ikat shirt (new).

capsule-sweaters_jackets

11 Sweaters/Blazers: elephant sweatshirt (new-ish, I’ve only worn it once before), pink sweatshirt, embroidered sweatshirt, mustard cardigan, gray boyfriend cardigan, black drapey cardigan (new-to-me, it’s a hand-me-down from my sister), navy blazer, khaki blazer, gray sweater (new), navy sweater, white sweater.

Yes that is three cable-knit sweaters in three colors. I may have a bit of a problem when it comes to cable-knit.

capsule-bottoms

12 Dresses/Bottoms: navy plaid dress, navy wool shift dress, black pleated skirt, polka-dot midi skirt, black pencil skirt, white jeans, boyfriend jeans, black jeans, red jeans, polka dot pants, blue jeans, plaid pants (new).

capsule-shoes

9 Shoes: black booties (new), brown booties (new), Chelsea boots (new), heeled oxfords, black heels, black flats, brown riding boots, black riding boots, leopard print flats.

I didn’t count coats, accessories,  or tights, and it comes down to 40 pieces, which is a nice round number, though I would prefer it to be 35. But it’s all an experiment at this point. If it works out, I will try it again in the spring and especially in the summer, which usually gives me much more trouble, sartorially speaking, than fall and winter. We’ll see. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for the first outfit!

One Comment on “Capsule Wardrobe, Fall/Winter 2014”

  1. Isabella says:

    How exciting that you’re taking on this project! It looks to me like you chose well, a nice variety with a lot of neutrals that will be easy to remix. Those black/floral boots are awesome!

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 


Leave a Reply

