SIA Inspiration: Richard Serra

It’s again my turn to pick an inspiration for SIA, and since I’m committing to a semi-minimalist capsule wardrobe in the next three months, I wanted to pick a minimalist piece too. However, after checking out a few minimalist paintings, I have to say, I don’t get it. A canvas of murky black is art? OK, if you say so. But then I remembered Richard Serra. I’ve seen his piece “Sequence” back in LA, and that is the kind of minimalist art for me. Walking around inside that sculpture is like walking inside a cathedral, or a canyon – it quiets you. I loved it.

So, in the end, I decided on another Richard Serra sculpture, “Tilted Spheres”:

How dramatic is that? Here’s another view. It’s installed in Toronto’s YYZ airport, which, in my opinion, the best place for it. It almost looks like the Batman logo, or something out of Star Trek, doesn’t it?

Anyway, I have no idea how this can be turned into an outfit, but that’s the beauty of SIA, isn’t it? Send your submission to me (14shadesofgreyblog@gmail.com) by next Monday, October 6th, and we’ll find out together.

3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Richard Serra”

  1. Isabella says:

    I see the opportunity for some really awesome avant-garde outfits! It’s cool that you’ve visited the sculpture itself – your description of your firsthand experience will affect my interpretation, since my first reaction was to see the sculpture as more menacing than calming.

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 

  2. Mike says:

    It’s funny that you said that this sculpture looks like the Batman logo Salazar. I said the same thing a few days ago in another posting without seeing what you said about it here until now. Goes to prove that great minds do think alike! It is a pretty cool looking sculpture. Would love to see this one in person.


Leave a Reply

