“How do I look?”

white shirt polka dot skirt brown mary janes by 14 shades of grey

Here’s a story that is only tangentially connected to the outfit: I screened Breakfast at Tiffany’s for my students the other day. It’s been a while since I watched it all the way through, and I was suddenly struck by how… elegant it is. It’s not just Audrey Hepburn. Everybody looks so classy. Of course, saying Breakfast at Tiffany’s is elegant is like saying the sky is blue, the movie is like an epitome of elegance, but I can’t help thinking that if the movie was made today, the leads would probably be hipsters (Holly Golightly is totally a Manic Pixie Dream Girl) and the whole thing wouldn’t be half as charming. They don’t make ’em like that anymore.

So, all that preamble is to say that the simplicity of my outfit is probably influenced by the movie, and I quite like it. Should’ve worn black shoes though.

white shirt polka dot skirt by 14 shades of greypolka dot skirt brown mary janes by 14 shades of grey

white shirt polka dot skirt by 14 shades of greywhite shirt polka dot skirt by 14 shades of grey

Shir & Skirt: local shop, Heels: thrifted, Watch: gift


5 Comments on ““How do I look?””

  1. Mike says:

    I agree Salazar. They don’t make movies like they used to. Some of the old Humphrey Bogart movies really brought out the “best” as far as cinematography goes. Today, most movies are so complicated and hard to follow that I often forget the main theme as I’m watching. The old black and white movies often stuck to one story line which I think is the ultimate crux in bringing in a large and captive audience. And like you said, there is a type of elegance that most present day movies just don’t possess. Even in the old ganster movies, the bad guys dressed in suits.
    I have not seen Breakfast At Tiffany’s. I’m a big fan of old films so I will have to keep this one in mind. Have you seen the movie Citizen Kane?

    • Salazar says:

      Ha, there’s no point in asking a film student if she’s seen Citizen Kane. I’ve probably seen it more than I ever wanted. It’s not my kind of old movies though. I prefer old romantic movies. Yeah some of them can be cheesy, but the elegance helps 🙂

      • Mike says:

        Truthfully, I never got the point of that movie. I had to write a dissertation on it for a class once and even though I passed with flying colors, I admit that I didn’t care much for it in the end. I had to watch it a good three times or more just to do the paper, which was more than enough for me. It’s not my kind of movie either. It sucked. Personally, I like the old comedies. They don’t make that kind of humor anymore. 🙂 And yes, the elegance does indeed help.

  2. I actually watched Breakfast At Tiffany’s for the first time last year – I need to see it again! That cat. 😉
    I love the simplicity and elegance of this outfit!

    • Salazar says:

      That cat! Yes! My heart absolutely melted for him, especially in the last scene.

      Though George Peppard was a cutie too. I’d completely forgotten that he was Hannibal in The A-Team!


Leave a comment