Closet Inventory

closet

I know, I know, everybody and their grandmothers are doing closet inventory these days, but this is actually to prepare for my capsule wardrobe. I’ve always wanted to do this, just to see how much I have already so I can shop smarter, but I keep putting it off because 1) I don’t have the time and 2) I’m kinda afraid of how much crap I’m going to find. Well, today I got some free time, and I finally got to it. I multi-tasked by taking pictures of the pieces I’m thinking of for my fall/winter capsule (I have about 50 pieces right now, but I’d like to narrow it down to about 35-40, and the photos help me see which piece works, which doesn’t). I also cleaned out the closet as I counted too, so it was actually quite productive.

And here’s the tally, after getting rid of quite a lot:

Tops:

4 sleeveless tops
14 short-sleeved tops/tees
10 long-sleeved tops
19 shirts/blouses
3 tunics
9 sweaters
11 cardigans
7 blazers
1 vest
8 coats/jackets

Bottoms:

5 pairs of pants
12 pairs of jeans
2 pairs of shorts
16 skirts
24 dresses (the most I have of anything, ironically)

Shoes:

3 pairs of tall boots
3 pairs of ankle boots
8 pairs of heels
7 pairs of flats
2 pairs of oxfords
2 pairs of sneakers
2 pairs of sandals

Total: 172 pieces

Naturally, I didn’t count the old tees and jeans that I wear around the house, or accessories like scarves and belt. 172 is… not as bad as I thought, though I definitely like to cut it down to about 100 or, more realistically, 150. I definitely need to cut down on the skirts and dresses, because I only wear about a fifth of those. At the same time, I’m going to need to replace a few things, so I think I’m going to exercise the “one in, one out” rule from now on.

3 Comments on “Closet Inventory”

  1. Meghan says:

    Wow. I’m impressed! I want to get my closet down to 150! Then instate the one in one out rule. I’m just so sentimental with most of my pieces though, it makes it hard. Only 11 cardigans though. 🙂

  2. Emily Popek says:

    Oh, man … I would be so scared to do a true closet inventory. Not to mention that would require doing all my laundry! I am just not cut out for the capsule wardrobe, but I’m excited to see what you put together.

  3. […] compared to the 172 pieces of my last inventory, is a huge improvement. I honestly didn’t expect I would be able to cut down so much. So, […]


Leave a Reply

