The Serenade

white top navy skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

This week’s SIA inspiration, “The Serenade” by Eugene de Blaas, has a lot of colors and patterns to choose from, but since I’m exercising to simplify my style, I decided to go with the lady on the far left, the one in the white shift and blue skirt, who’s all “I’m too busy for this sh*t”. She is truly a girl after my own heart 🙂

So for my outfit, I copied her “skirt over dress” look (the white skirt is probably her petticoat though). It was too hot for a kerchief/scarf like she has around her neck, so I added the blue brooch as a finishing touch. This is actually one of the SIA outfits that I’m quite proud of, because it’s pretty close to the original while still being wearable.

Don’t forget to check out Librarian for Life and Style to see other interpretations of this painting!

white top navy skirt black heels by 14 shades of greywhite top navy skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

white top blue flower brooch by 14 shades of greywhite top navy skirt by 14 shades of grey

Dress (as top): tailor, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Heels: Esprit (hand-me-down), Brooch: thrifted

2 Comments on “The Serenade”

  1. The skirt over the dress you have on looks great!

  2. […] is SIA co-founder Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey, who was inspired by the lady on the left, the one in blue and white and totally focused on her […]


Leave a Reply

