Book Review: The Devil In The White City

white eyelet top white jeans black ankle boots by 14 shades of grey

I got this Erik Larson book recommended to me by Jess, when I asked her for some historical non-fiction. It’s about the construction of the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair, interwoven with the story of serial killer H.H. Holmes. I always enjoy a good serial killer story, so I love this. I haven’t read any other Erik Larson book, but this one is written in a very cinematic way, which appeals to the screenwriter in me. It’s not just about the details, but it’s the way each scene comes alive with actions and emotions. Another good thing is that it’s written in alternating chapters, so I could always make sure to stop at a chapter on the World’s Fair when I read it before bed πŸ˜› The serial killer part can be a bit spine-chilling to read when you’re alone at night.

As for the outfit inspired by the book, I knew I wanted black-and-white, but I couldn’t decide which shoes to wear. Then I went boot shopping last weekend* and found these perfect pair, so I put together an outfit that is a mix between modern and Victorian elements. It’s very appropriate for the book, I think.

And hey, my all-white outfit is just in time for Labor Day too. It’s the last time I got to wear white** so might as well go all-out, right? Have a great Labor Day weekend, my US readers!

white eyelet top white jeans black ankle boots by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top white jeans by 14 shades of grey

white eyelet top cameo necklace by 14 shades of greywhite jeans black ankle boots by 14 shades of grey

Top: Mango, Jeans: Calvin Klein, Boots: Betts (it’s an Australian brand I believe), Necklace: Forever21

* I scoff that those style bloggers who are all “OMG fall!” by the end of July, because let’s face it, it won’t be fall until October (November for us), but now I can kinda understand why. All the stores are putting out fall fashion now, it’s hard not to be excited. And it was rainy but not warm when I wore this, so they’re not stank boots, I promise.

** Just kidding. I don’t follow arbitrary fashion rules. I’m a rebel that way.

7 Comments on “Book Review: The Devil In The White City”

  1. I really like this outfit! And I read Devil in the White City before I lived in Chicago. Now I want to read it again so I can better picture all the locations.

  2. Mike says:

    Thanks Salazar! Hope you have a great weekend as well. πŸ™‚

  3. I LOVE this book! I have heard others say they were turned off by some of the liberties he takes with the narrative (I.e. It is not all 100% supported by historical documents) but it was such a gripping read that it did not bother me in the least. You should absolutely read “Thunderstruck” by him as well if you enjoyed this one.

    • Salazar says:

      I agree, I read this as more of a historical novel based on facts than a historically accurate non-fiction book. I’ll check out Thunderstruck too, thanks!

  4. Snoskred says:

    In case I have not already left a comment, this is just a quick note to say hi. I visited your blog during the month of August and I liked what I saw, so I’ve added you to my feedreader and am following your blog. πŸ™‚

    I’m from Australia and yes, Betts is a brand here. πŸ™‚

    Cheers!
    Snoskred

  5. Love the book. I remember reading it when it first came out. Super great read.

  6. Marissa says:

    You can’t go wrong with all white and I love that it was inspired by such an interesting book! I will definitely have to add it to my list.


Leave a Reply

