Do-Over: Orange Top & Black Bottom

orange polka dot blouse black pencil skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

I was feeling uninspired today, so I decided to do another “do-over” post by going through my archives to find an outfit I’m not happy with and redoing it. This time I picked this outfit, which, as usual, has some messed-up proportion. The blouse has kind of a peplum, and it starts about 4 inches above my actual waist, so it makes me looks really short-waisted (quite a feat, considering my long torso!), and the rolled jeans and flats don’t help either. I’ve paired this top with wide-leg jeans before and it looked OK, so this time I wanted to see if I could pair it with something else. I kept the bottom silhouette fitted, only with a pencil skirt instead of skinny jeans. The shoes I’m not so sure about, but I like that they add a bit of an edge to the outfit and keep it from being too “office-y”.

I don’t know if it’s much of an improvement (I’m thinking about putting this blouse into my “donate” pile anyway), but at least it looks more interesting, right?

orange polka dot blouse black pencil skirt black heels by 14 shades of greyorange polka dot blouse black pencil skirt by 14 shades of grey

orange polka dot blouse black pencil skirt by 14 shades of greyorange polka dot blouse black pencil skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

Comparison:

polka dot blouse black jeans captoe flats by 14 shades of greyorange polka dot blouse black pencil skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

Blouse: Target, Skirt: Forever21, Heels: hand-me-down

3 Comments on “Do-Over: Orange Top & Black Bottom”

  1. Ah, I can’t decide which look I prefer! Maybe this one, though I agree about the shoes. In fact, I think I would like both outfits better with different shoes. But cute, nonetheless!

  2. Isabella says:

    I definitely prefer the top with the pencil skirt, it looks more chic! The shoes are awesome.

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 

  3. I hate it when shirts are oddly proportioned like that. I think I like it better with the skirt and those amazing shoes, too.


Leave a Reply

