Classroom Style

bird print shirt navy skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

Yesterday was my first day of teaching in the new school year, so I reached for my ever-trusty schoolmarm skirt. I almost paired it with a white button-up, but decided that it would be too “school girl” instead of “schoolmarm”, so I went with this shirt instead. One of my style resolution for this academic year is to dress more professionally. Yeah, we’re a liberal art school, but I find that by overdressing a bit, I can have more confidence to assert my authority in the classroom. And I’m going to need that authority this year – aside from my usual directing class, I’m taking on another graduating screenwriting class. The idea is that since they are graduating, I won’t have to work with them as much, and it would be easier on me as a new instructor. However, after one session, I have a feeling that I’m going to have to work extra hard with them to hopefully undo all the bad habits they’ve accumulated over the past three years. Fun times.

bird print shirt navy skirt red flats by 14 shades of greybird print shirt navy skirt by 14 shades of grey

bird print shirt navy skirt by 14 shades of greybird print shirt arrow necklace by 14 shades of grey

bird print shirt navy skirt by 14 shades of greybird print shirt navy skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Oasis (hand-me-down), Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Belt: thrifted, Flats: Caprice, Necklace: Forever21

6 Comments on “Classroom Style”

  1. ADA says:

    Lovely classroom style. I want a Navy Midi Full Skirt like yours and that blouse is so pretty, also. =)

  2. Isabella says:

    You look professional and creative, a perfect expression of Salazar at work! I love the print of the top and the arrow necklace.

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 

  3. I love this. I think it’s professional but still very stylish; I’d wear this whole look!

  4. I really love this! I have a skirt similar to that and it’s one of my favorites. So versatile and classic. You definitely look nicely professional and stylish!

  5. Mike says:

    You look very professional Salazar. I think your students will take you seriously and will work hard. Any “bad habits” that they may have accumulated will dissipate if they want to be successful in the work world. I think it all depends on each student’s motivation and how much he or she wishes to be successful. You present the door to learning for them. They must turn the key of success and walk through it. A bit corny I know but you will do fine. Good luck with the new term!

  6. Meghan says:

    I love the birds on that shirt. When I was substitute teaching, I was placed in a class of high schoolers that weren’t much younger than me. I found that I wanted to dress up and put on make up because it led them to believe that I was older than I looked without makeup and in more casual picks. So I totally get how it gives you authority.


Leave a Reply

