Do-Over: White Dress & Chambray

white dress chambray shirt brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

Did you ever look through your old photo albums and just cringe at whatever you were wearing back then? The thing about having a style blog is that you get that all the time. Or at least I do. I was looking through my archives the other day and noticed a bunch outfits that started out as good ideas, but the execution is meh, or outfits that I thought were good ideas back then but now they are more like “WTF was I thinking?” So I decided to take those outfits and re-style them, keeping the basic idea while trying to improve the execution. I kind of did it already here, but even then I was not exactly happy with the second try. I’m going to make it a more regular feature of the blog now. And hey, it can be greatwhen I don’t know what to wear – just pick an old outfit that I don’t like and make it better!

So, for my first do-over, I picked this outfit. I like the idea but it ended up looking really awkward because I messed up the proportions (always a problem area for me). I fixed it by choosing a more fitted chambray shirt, getting rid of the belt, and keeping the footwear simple to stay true to the relaxed feel of the inspiration pin.

white dress chambray shirt by 14 shades of greywhite dress chambray shirt brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

white dress brown sandals by 14 shades of greywhite dress chambray shirt by 14 shades of grey

For comparison:

chambray shirt white dress red flats by 14 shades of greywhite dress chambray shirt brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

What do you guys think?

Dress: Miss Sixty, Shirt: Esprit, Sandals: gift

7 Comments on “Do-Over: White Dress & Chambray”

  1. Meghan says:

    I like the first try, but I LOVE the second try. It really makes you look longer. Though I love the shoes, I honestly think either pair could do the job, but tying up the chambray at your waist makes a huge difference.

  2. Sarca says:

    Number two for me. I think the belt in the first one needs to be smaller.

  3. kezzie says:

    Oh yes, the new version is MUCH nicer!! And ys I get that feeling lots-usually after doing Inspiration Monday or an SIA where I feel like I’m wearing a costume (that’d be mist of them then!) X

  4. Ooh, I definitely agree! The proportions are much better in this outfit, and you look adorable!

  5. I like this idea of taking old outfits and rethinking or remixing them. And I agree, the proportions are much better on the new outfit. I love the trick of tying a button-down over a dress. Always looks casually chic to me. 🙂

  6. Ooh, yeah; I like this one much better. Tying up the shirt makes such a huge difference in how it looks, and it works better proportion wise.
    And yes, I totally look back at some fashion and just think WHAT???
    Haha! The joys of having a fashion blog…

  7. Dawn says:

    Great idea for a series of posts. I liked looking at the inspiration and comparing your two outfits. It’s really interesting how such small seeming changes can make a big difference.


Leave a Reply

