Minimalist Wannabe

red striped shirt blue jeans leopard print flats by 14 shades of grey

I’m truly on my way to becoming a minimalist now, because when I looked at this outfit again, I immediately thought “Too much.” Am I crazy? Between the stripes, the leopard prints, the lace, and the necklace, it definitely feels overwrought to me. Maybe a plain grey scarf and my black flats would be better. Or maybe ditch the necklace and keep the scarf. But I wanted to show off the necklace, and wearing it alone with just the T-shirt looked weird somehow… yeah, I’m definitely overthinking this. I have to remember the “K.I.S.S.” rule next time.

red striped shirt blue jeans lace scarf by 14 shades of greyred striped shirt blue jeans leopard print flats by 14 shades of grey

red striped shirt long necklace by 14 shades of greyred striped shirt lace scarf long necklace by 14 shades of grey

Also, it’s been raining buckets all day, and it started raining again when I was taking photos, so this happened:

red striped shirt blue jeans lace scarf by 14 shades of greyred striped shirt blue jeans lace scarf by 14 shades of grey

And that is why I love circle scarves. Instant hoodies/Assassin’s Creed cosplay.

Shirt: Gap, Jeans: Forever21, Flats: LA Fashion District, Scarf: self-made, Necklace: local shop

5 Comments on “Minimalist Wannabe”

  1. Isabella says:

    You look cute! I love the stripes combined with the dark jeans. I think this look works really well as-is, but if you’re having minimalist impulses, follow them! The Assassin’s Creed reference made me laugh 🙂

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi

  2. I think this is a really put together and adorable look! I get what you’re saying, but I still think you look great, and those last pictures are adorable.

  3. I get what you’re saying, but I actually didn’t notice the lace OR the leopard print. I think those are basically neutral enough that it looks nice and simple and not fussy. But I’m a print mix addict, so… it’s probably just more my taste. 😀

  4. Very cute outfit, and definitely NOT too much!

  5. […] funny coincidence: I wore a very similar outfit exactly a year ago. Except this time my shirt is long-sleeved and my shoes are snakeskin, not leopard. I did think of […]


Leave a Reply

