Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May

rose printed shirt plaid shorts red flats by 14 shades of grey

This is my interpretation of this week’s SIA inspiration, John William Waterhouse’s “Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May”. I’m not happy with it though. It definitely sounded better in my head. I thought these shorts would be a good idea because they mimic the dark background of the painting (the rose printed shirt is self-explanatory), but Bermuda shorts are not my friends. It’s just that I couldn’t think of any bottom to pair with this shirt that could work for the painting too. Oh well. Maybe by checking other outfits on Jess’ blog, I can get some idea?

rose printed shirt plaid shorts red flats by 14 shades of greyrose printed shirt plaid shorts by 14 shades of grey

rose printed shirt plaid shorts bead bracelet by 14 shades of greyplaid shorts red flats by 14 shades of grey

Tunic: Handmade (store), Shorts: thrifted, Flats: Caprice, Bracelet: self-made

3 Comments on “Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May”

  1. Mike says:

    I think you did a wonderful job with this SIA inspiration Salazar. You’re really good at this. For some reason, whenever I see the word “rosebud”, I think of Orson Welles’ 1941 movie Citizen Kane. I had to watch that for my film class and write a dissertation on it.

  2. Isabella says:

    I love the pattern of the top and the dusty rose color in the top and the shoes. I ended up going with more vibrant versions of the colors in the painting (my hair makes it kind of impossible for me to wear dusty rose at the moment.) If the shorts were long pants instead, they’d be perfect – they do mimic the interior as you said, but if you don’t feel comfortable, that’s no good.

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi

  3. Sarca says:

    Your shoes tie it all together. I think you did a great job with this one!


Leave a Reply

