Book Review: The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry

green gingham shirt white jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

Do you guys remember that part in Forrest Gump when Forrest, “for no particular reason”, just starts running? And then he meets a bunch of people and has a bunch of revelations about his life? “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry”, by Rachel Joyce, is kind of like that, except instead of Forrest Gump, you have a British retiree, Harold Fry, who, on a whim, decides to walk from one end of England to the other, with nothing but his wallet and the clothes on his back, because he believes his walk will save a friend who’s dying of cancer.

This book couldn’t be further from my wheelhouse (it’s more like something my mom would read), but I picked it up because 1) I like road trip books/movies, and 2) this is a British road trip, which of course appeals to the Anglophile in me. In fact, this is a very British book, period. From the characters to the settings, it’s so British you can almost taste the Earl Grey and digestive biscuits from the pages. The story gets a little sentimental at times, but it’s also heartbreaking and beautifully written in simple language, and a fairly quick read, so I really enjoyed it.

As for the outfit, Harold is walking in his everyday clothes and his yachting shoes, which I choose to interpret in a casual outfit + loafers. Basically the worst outfit you can wear if you’re walking the length of a country. I added the necklace because Harold buys a rose quartz pendant as a present for his friend, and this is the best I could do to imitate that. An actual rose quartz pendant would be nice though.

green gingham shirt white jeans by 14 shades of greygreen gingham shirt white jeans by 14 shades of grey

green gingham shirt white jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of greygreen gingham shirt amber necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Gap (thrifted), Jeans: Calvin Klein, Loafers: 5th Avenue, Necklace: my mom’s

3 Comments on “Book Review: The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry”

  1. Kezzieq says:

    I like it! I used to have a rose quartz pendant but not sure what happened to it!x

  2. Dawn Lucy says:

    I love a literature inspired outfit!
    Dawn Lucy
    http://fashionshouldbefun.blogspot.com

  3. […] I reviewed The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, I thought it was the most British book ever. I was wrong. “Major Pettigrew’s Last […]


Leave a Reply

