Da Lat, part I: The Scenery

So, Da Lat. My dad had a conference there, so my mom, my niece, and I tagged along. It is actually the furthest I’ve ever traveled in Vietnam, and one of the prettiest towns I’ve ever seen. It’s up in the mountains, so the weather is super nice (aside from the humidity), and the landscape is absolutely gorgeous, all lush and green. Even the flowers seem more colorful. I didn’t get to explore as much as I wanted to – it’s to be expected when you’re traveling with a preschooler – but honestly, you don’t have to go out of your way to find beauty in this town. We stayed at this hotel on top of a pine hill overlooking a lake, so just walking down the hill and around the lake is enough. Most days, my mom and I just took my niece walking/biking and wandered around all day before meeting my dad for dinner. We didn’t really do touristy stuff, and I prefer it that way – no rushing off, no jostling with a crowd to see this sight or do that activity; it’s a relaxing vacation in its truest sense.

OK, I’ll just let the photos do the talking now šŸ™‚

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

da lat scenery

2 Comments on “Da Lat, part I: The Scenery”

  1. Meghan says:

    Wow! Just wow! Thanks so much for sharing these with us. Such a gorgeous country. All the pictures I’ve ever seen of Vietnam obviously do it no justice.

    • Salazar says:

      Thank you Meghan! I think most people are surprised at how diverse Vietnam looks. We’re a tropical country, but it’s not all palm trees and bamboos and rice paddies.


Leave a Reply

