Bastille

white blouse navy skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

Any French reader out there? Happy Bastille Day! This is my interpretation of this week’s SIA inspiration, Egon Schiele’s “Portrait of Elisabeth Lederer”, and appropriately enough, the red-white-blue theme fits right in with Bastille Day. At first I considered wearing one of my white dresses with a blue scarf, but it’s too hot for that, so here’s what I did instead. The full round-up post will be live tomorrow, so remember to check back!

In other, totally unrelated news, yesterday I was shocked to learn that none of the students in my workshop has even heard of Babe (we were discussing films featuring animals), let alone seen it. None!!!  They were all like, “We were born in 1998, how are we supposed to know about a film from 1995?” and I was like “But it’s a classic!” It was just like that scene in School of Rock when Jack Black lists off the name of rock bands and the kids just stare blankly back at him so he screams “Ah, what do they teach in this place?!”, you know? I know sometimes I make references that are way too obscure for the average Vietnamese high school/college students, but Babe is not exactly obscure, is it? And they’re supposed to be film buffs, that’s why they’re taking a filmmaking workshop! Kids these days, man…

white blouse navy skirt by 14 shades of greywhite blouse navy skirt blue belt by 14 shades of grey

navy skirt red flats by 14 shades of greywhite blouse navy skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

Top: local shop, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Belt: thrifted, Flats: Caprice

5 Comments on “Bastille”

  1. Rebekah says:

    Cute top! Ya know, I don’t know that I’ve ever seen Babe either, but I may have been just slightly too old for the target audience. I was 12 in ’95. I mean, I’ve obviously heard of it, though. I should watch it now – I was just looking at pictures, and the dog in that movie looks just like my dog. I bet both my daughter and my dog would get a kick out of it.

  2. kezzie says:

    Very cute but sophisticated at the sane time!! X

  3. Jess says:

    Ohhhh you look adorable! I have moments like that a LOT, but it’s more because I watch really random crap. Although to be fair, my boyfriend never watches TV, so when I’m like HOW ABOUT THAT FAMOUS TV SHOW EH? he’s like what are you talking about??? And then I am le sad. I see it a lot at work too, mostly by parents with younger kids. “What do you MEAN you’ve never heard of Alfred Hitchcock?!” The kids always look ready to kill their parents when that happens.

  4. Oh, I looooooove the movie ‘Babe’!!! (And I’ve read the children’s book on which it was based.) 🙂


Leave a Reply

