Luggage Bar Code Sunset

striped top polka dot skirt yellow flats by 14 shades of grey

Here’s my outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Douglas Coupland’s “Luggage Bar Code Sunset No.4”. Pretty self-explanatory, right? Stripes, polka dot, yellow, red. Check, check, check, and check. The only thing I’m missing is the blue of the polka dots, but I’m trying to cut down on colors to no more than three per outfit (ha, maybe I should start a Color Anonymous or something), plus the red and yellow are more prominent anyway.

Sorry my post is so short, but I really have to get back to my translation of Ender’s Game. I’ve been neglecting it all through the last few months of the semester, I’m supposed to turn it in soon and I still have 150 pages to go. So check Jess’ blog for other interpretations of the painting, and bye!

striped top polka dot skirt red belt by 14 shades of greystriped top polka dot skirt red belt by 14 shades of grey

polka dot skirt yellow flats by 14 shades of grey

striped top polka dot skirt red belt by 14 shades of grey

Top: local shop, Skirt: thrifted, Belt: borrowed from my mom, Flats: eBay

6 Comments on “Luggage Bar Code Sunset”

  1. Mike says:

    Great theme Salazar! Totally get the whole barcode theme, both the painting and your outfit. I always thought barcodes were cool as a child. When I was little, I used to go around our home and see how many products I could find that had a barcode on them. It was stupid but it gave me something to do on a rainy day. 🙂

  2. Very cute! I love the stripes mixed with polka dots!

  3. Isabella says:

    Ooh, I really like this interpretation! The varied stripes on the shirt are perfect, as are the bright yellow shoes! I would love to wear this.

    ~Isabella
    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 

  4. Meghan says:

    That is the coolest way EVER to tie a belt! I absolutely love the stripes and polka dots together. I love the interpretation of the SIA. I was most looking forward to seeing what everyone came up with for this painting since there was so much color and it was a very simple painting. There was so much room for interpretation.

  5. marie says:

    what a sweet skirt and perfectly tied belt!
    Marie @ In Our Happy Place

  6. paul00092014 says:

    Terrific! And the stripes just like bar code. Very cool!


Leave a Reply

