Color Withdrawal

black tee black polka dot skirt black flats by 14 shades of grey

Ever since the beginning of this year, when I accepted the fact that my style has become more minimal, I’ve been wearing a lot less color. Looking back at my archives, I found mostly neutral outfits with a few “pops of color” here and there. And that’s a good thing, I think, because it takes a lot less time to figure out which color goes with which. Sometimes, though, I feel like I’m going through color withdrawal. Take this outfit, for example. I actually wore a teal belt with the skirt, but then I took one look at the preview on my camera and decided it was too much. The orange brooch was enough.

In fact, I nearly replace the orange brooch with my gold-and-pearl one too, to dial the colors down even more. I would love to commit to being a minimalist completely, but I don’t think I have the look to pull it off. Some people look really chic and striking in a minimal outfit; I would just look like I rolled out of bed and grabbed whatever is clean. I guess I just have to find a balance between my two (wildly different) preferences – modern minimal and embellished vintage.

black polka dot skirt black flats by 14 shades of greyblack tee black polka dot skirt by 14 shades of grey

black tee orange brooch by 14 shades of greyblack tee black polka dot skirt by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Uniqlo, Skirt: local shop, Flats: Vagabond, Brooch: vintage

3 Comments on “Color Withdrawal”

  1. I think you can totally pull off the complete minimalist look – and I always love those outfits the most. This is a lovely look, and I adore that last picture with the flowers.

  2. I am loving the skirt – and the pop of color from the brooch.

  3. Pretty! Love that last photograph with the orange flowers 🙂


Leave a Reply

