Summer Essentials

sleeveless top wide leg jeans black heels by 14 shades of grey

I was wondering what to write about this outfit – which is not that interesting by itself – when I remembered that I want to participate in Bri of Work Clothes, I Suppose’s Third Thursday Thread link-up. This month’s theme is Must-Have for Summer, and when I think about it, these two items that I’m wearing are actually quite important in my summer wardrobe.

The first is wide-leg pants. For me, dresses and skirts are never as comfy as pants, and I always have to wear bike shorts underneath them anyway, so they’re not great for summer. But wide-leg pants or jeans? I can move freely, and my legs are still nice and cool. Bonus: I won’t have to douse myself in bug spray to avoid getting eaten alive by mosquitoes.

The second is a cute top in a natural fabric, one that I can wear to work and not steam in my own sweat. This top, if you remember, was actually this dress, but I finally had the courage to rip out the skirt part of it and turn it into a much more wearable shirt. It’s cotton, it’s sleeveless, but it’s still dressy enough for work – perfect.

So what are your go-to items for the summer?

sleeveless top wide leg jeans by 14 shades of greysleeveless top wide leg jeans by 14 shades of grey

sleeveless top wide leg jeans black heels by 14 shades of greysleeveless top wide leg jeans silver bracelet by 14 shades of grey

sleeveless top by 14 shades of grey

Top: from a vintage dress, Jeans: Old Navy, Shoes: thrifted, Bracelet: local shop

4 Comments on “Summer Essentials”

  1. Anna Belle says:

    I’m so impressed by your dress-into-shirt! It’s so cute like this and I would wear it all summer!

  2. Oh, I love that dress MUCH more as a shirt! I’m glad you had the courage to do it! And those jeans look absolutely fantastic on you!
    My summer essentials… probably a good patterned stretchy scoop neck tee shirt, and a comfortable knee length circle skirt. I’m most “me” in that outfit, and it feels most comfortable.
    Probably why I have most of those two items in my closet…

  3. I loved the dress, but it looks fantastic as a shirt, as well! I can see why this is a perfect shirt for summer 🙂

  4. Bri Marie says:

    Definitely forget about wide leg pants, but they are such a great summer addition!


Leave a Reply

