The Grand Budapest Hotel

contrast blouse navy skirt brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

I was going to do a full review of The Grand Budapest Hotel but I was too lazy to make screencaps, so here’s the quick version accompanied by unrelated outfit photos: it’s funnier than I expected, but while I like it, it doesn’t make me go “OMG amazeballs” (actually, nothing can make me say that. Ever. But you know what I mean) like some of his other movies. Then again, I’ve always been more partial to Wes Anderson’s drama/romance stuff (Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, Moonrise Kingdom) than his adventure stuff (The Life Aquatic, The Darjeeling Limited.) Besides, he is one of those directors you either love or you don’t, so if you’re a fan, you’ve probably watched this already and don’t need my opinion to convince you.

And hey, the outfit may not be as unrelated as it seems, because there is a symmetrical quality about it in my shirt and belt, and Wes Anderson’s visual style is all about symmetry, so… No? Stretching it too much? OK. Stopping now. Have a great weekend everybody!

contrast blouse navy skirt by 14 shades of greycontrast blouse navy skirt brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

navy skirt brown sandals by 14 shades of greycontrast blouse navy skirt brown belt by 14 shades of grey

contrast blouse by 14 shades of grey

Top: Mango, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrift), Belt: local shop, Sandals: Zalora

5 Comments on “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

  1. Isabella says:

    This look is very chic and very Salazar! At first I was like “Ooh! Is it a dress? Is it a dress with a blouse over it?” and then, realizing it was a top and skirt, I was super impressed. The top looks especially lovely on you!

    I haven’t seen The Grand Budapest Hotel yet, but I’ve heard it didn’t “wow” many fans. I love Darjeeling Limited, Royal Tenenbaums, and Moonrise Kingdom (in that order…I think) so I look forward to seeing it, but I don’t have sky-high hopes.

    • Salazar says:

      Thank you Isabella! I don’t have a lot of pieces that match so exactly like these, so of course I had to pair them together!

      Re “The Grand Budapest Hotel”: Really? It currently has the highest Imdb rating of all Wes Anderson movies, and I’ve read a couple of reviews that gush over it, so I assume all fans love it. It’s really fun, that’s for sure, but what I don’t like is that his visual style is a bit too artificial in this. Not picture-book like in The Royal Tenenbaums or Moonrise Kingdom, but kind of cartoonish.

  2. I cannot even say how much I love that shirt tucked into that skirt. Absolutely gorgeous.

  3. kezzie says:

    Oooh, tell me about the belt!! How!!!!

    I liked this film even though I found it a bit weird! X


Leave a Reply

