Pretty Pleats

white shirt pink pleated skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

I am so sorry for that cheesy title but it’s really too hot (today is 100 and heat index is 115 again) and my brain is too tired (finale week is just as tiring for the teacher as it is for the students, who knows) to come up with anything else. Anyway, this is my outfit for this week’s SIA. I let everybody pick their favorite floating sculpture by Peter Gentenaar, and for myself, I picked this one:

I mimicked the swirls of the sculpture with my pleats, and kept the rest of the outfit simple and monochromatic. Midi skirt + flats is not the best combo for my stumpy legs, but it gives the outfit an easy breezy look that I kinda like. One regret though: my mom has this bracelet made from pieces of seashells that would’ve been perfect (it looks like this, only more pinkish), but it’s nowhere to be found. But then again I doubt I would want anything against my wrist in this heat, so maybe it’s for the best.

white shirt pink pleated skirt by 14 shades of greywhite shirt pink pleated skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

pink pleated skirt red flats by 14 shades of greywhite shirt pink pleated skirt red belt by 14 shades of grey

Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for the round-up post to see the other interpretations. We have a lot of varieties this week, it’s going to be great!

Shirt: Zara, Skirt: hand-me-down, Flats: Caprice, Belt: borrowed from my mom

2 Comments on “Pretty Pleats”

  1. Mary says:

    I just sent you my entry about 15 minutes ago, and I picked pink pleats, too. Whoops! Great minds think alike. I like yours better than how mine came out, though. Nice job!

  2. Beautiful! I especially like how the looped belt echoes the inspiration as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

