The Floor Scrapers

black striped tee khaki pants brown flats by 14 shades of grey

My outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Gustave Caillebotte’s “The Floor Scrapers“, is pretty straightforward. As soon as I saw the painting I know I wanted to wear this striped shirt, and then the pants were chosen for the color of the wall and the brooch to mimic the ironwork on the window/door in the background. It was the shoes that I’m kinda iffy about, but I just got these and they are so freaking comfy that I can’t stop wearing them, and besides, they fit with the color scheme.

Speaking of colors, I’m still trying to figure out how to make the photos look consistent from post to post, and I can’t seem to get the exposure right. I thought shooting in RAW would fix all that but apparently it still depends more on the lighting. Man, if nothing else, I hope this heat wave will end soon so I can get some diffuse sunlight for my photos again.

P/S: Don’t forget to stop by Animated Cardigan to see other looks inspired by this painting!

black striped tee khaki pants by 14 shades of greyblack striped tee heart-shaped brooch by 14 shades of grey

brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

black striped tee heart-shaped brooch by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Forever21, Pants: Zara, Flats: local shop, Brooch: hand-me-down

2 Comments on “The Floor Scrapers”

  1. Mike says:

    Great job with your matching outfit once again Salazar! You said that you weren’t sure about your shoes matching the painting but really if you look at the color of the floor there, that sort of matches your shoes. They have a slight bit more red than the floor, but it is not too different.
    And as far as lighting goes, maybe check your aperture settings on your camera. If you want slightly lower exposure, maybe use a slower shutter speed.

  2. Ah, having to adjust camera settings in the middle of a shoot can be annoying. But most people won’t notice the difference between pictures (I didn’t, until you said something about it!)
    I think the shoes look fine with this! They’re in the color scheme, and it works. I love that shirt!


Leave a Reply

