Going RAW

chambray shirt polka dot dress red flats by 14 shades of grey

I’m going to go a bit technical today and talk about my photography, because the outfit is pretty straightforward and I have nothing else to talk about. Since I moved home, I’ve been color-editing my photos to make the tone more consistent, because the light here can vary so much from day to day. Back in LA I can always count on bright sun or some lovely magic hour light, but here, one day it may be overcast and the light is nicely diffused, the next it may be harsh sunlight, and the next it may be the yellowish light after a thunderstorm. That’s not to mention sometimes I have to take pictures indoor too, and our house is not the best for natural light (it’s built to keep every bit of sun out, not let it in.) So I would run my photos through a color-editing software to get a more consistent tone. Most of the time it turned out OK, but I’m not entirely happy with it because the photos sometimes ended up with a weird purple undertone, or they would get overexposed, and plus it’s just too time-consuming.

So starting from this week, I’ve switched to shooting in RAW. I wish I’d done so earlier because it gives me much more freedom to tweak the colors and exposure to my liking, and saves me a lot of time too. It’s probably going to take some more tinkering for me to get the photos how I want them, but so far I’m happy with the results.

chambray shirt polka dot skirt by 14 shades of greypolka dot skirt red flats by 14 shades of grey

chambray shirt initial necklace by 14 shades of grey

chambray shirt polka dot skirt red flats by 14 shades of greychambray shirt polka dot skirt by 14 shades of grey

Shirt & Belt: thrifted, Skirt: local shop, Flats: Caprice, Necklace: gift

5 Comments on “Going RAW”

  1. porcelina says:

    pretty in polkadots! Love the initial necklace too x

  2. very nice girly outfit

  3. kezzie says:

    My Father in Law took photod in RAW last time we went to the lakes. I’d not geard of it before that x

  4. What could be a cuter outfit than a polka dot skirt, chambray top, and red flats! This is adorable.

  5. fizzandfrosting says:

    I adore this polka dot skirt!! I’ve tried shooting RAW and definitely need more practice with editing!


Leave a Reply

