Labor Day

black striped shirt coral jeans captoe flats by 14 shades of grey

It’s the start of our long Labor Day break, so here’s a casual outfit to start it off. I’ll probably be wearing a version of this for the entire break. It’s not like I have anywhere to go, really. I’m just going to be boring and spend the next four days catching up on work and TV.

Now, on a different note, I have a question to ask you guys. I have been struggling with accessorizing lately. Brooches have always been my signature, but I haven’t been able to get any new ones since I moved home (no vintage shops here, and international shipping is such a hassle), and besides, you can’t wear a brooch with every outfit. When it comes to necklaces or bracelets, I feel completely uninspired with what I have. So I’m trying to rebuild my accessory collection, except I have no idea where to start. All I know is that I like something simple, preferably with a vintage or minimalist feel to it. Do you guys have any suggestion, like a certain piece or a certain design? Anything would be welcomed. I need to know what to look for before I start looking.

black striped shirt coral jeans captoe flats by 14 shades of greyblack striped shirt coral jeans by 14 shades of grey

black striped shirt black-and-white necklace by 14 shades of greycoral jeans captoe flats by 14 shades of grey

black striped shirt coral jeans by 14 shades of greyblack striped shirt by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: local shop, Jeans: Wet Seal (thrifted), Flats: Zalora, Necklace: Venice gift shop

3 Comments on “Labor Day”

  1. That shirt is so much fun; it would add interest to any outfit. I also love those pants.

  2. Oooh, interesting inquiry for jewelry ideas. And I couldn’t help myself — I started a “Salazar Jewelry Ideas” board on Pinterest! http://www.pinterest.com/liblifeandstyle/salazar-jewelry-ideas/ — I went for a mix of graphic shapes with delicate and/or natural materials. I also love the idea of chevron shapes in jewelry on you, or pieces mixed with wood or bone. For vintage pieces, perhaps bakelite jewelry would be a cool option. Also, what about clock brooches, like what nurses used to wear? They would go with anything, still link back to your love of brooches, have that vintage flare, and be useful all in one.

    Anyway, just throwing out ideas! 🙂

    • Salazar says:

      Oh wow, thank you Jen! There are definitely some great pieces there – in fact, I think I’ve looked at several of those Modcloth necklaces myself, and Favor Jewelry seems like a great place to start. Now I just have to figure out where to find similar pieces here in Vietnam… or maybe I could get a few things custom-made.


Leave a Reply

