I Collect Spores, Molds, and Fungus

green dress striped blazer lace tights heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

I’m not happy with this outfit. It’s for this week’s SIA, inspired by Erté’s “Spring Rain”, and as usual, I got caught up in trying to recreate the painting as closely as I could and forgot that it should be a put-together outfit at the same time. So I ended up wearing all the things. I should’ve gone for something more subtle, or at least take off the lace tights (but my legs are still scarred so tights are kind of a must if I want to wear a dress.) Everybody is killing it this week though, so be sure to check back tomorrow for the full round-up post!

In other news, it has been crazy humid here lately and everything is moldy. And I mean everything. Shoes, bags, belt – anything made from genuine leather. Even my mouse pad. It’s absolutely gross, but there is nothing I can do except to wipe everything down with rubbing alcohol and turn the dehumidifier up high, and wait for the sun to come out. It seems I always have to fight humidity wherever I live. Back in LA it was because there was not enough of it, and here because there’s too much. Ugh.

green dress striped blazer lace tights by 14 shades of greygreen dress striped blazer lace tights heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

lace tights heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greygreen dress striped blazer lace necklace by 14 shades of grey

green dress striped blazer by 14 shades of greygreen dress lace tights by 14 shades of grey

Dress, Belt, and Shoes: local shop, Blazer: thrifted, Tights: Forever21, Necklace: self-made

6 Comments on “I Collect Spores, Molds, and Fungus”

  1. fizzandfrosting says:

    I actually really like the dress and blazer together! Very cute!

  2. I like them too! I’m so timid about pattern mixing for myself, but it looks so cute on others!

  3. That necklace with the dress is super cute, though!

    While I was on vacation in Puerto Rico last month I commented to my husband that it must be annoying to deal with that much humidity all year round. The buildings always look so beat up even if the inside is in great condition!

  4. Adorable look here and I love that statement necklace, did it take you long to make? Rachel xo

  5. Isabella says:

    I’ve got to disagree with you: I really, really like this look! The patterns are so fun together, and I totally see the painting in the outfit, feminine lacy touches and all. This also makes me want a striped blazer of my own…

    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 


Leave a Reply

