Bug Fodder

mint dress black blazer black boots by 14 shades of grey

The weather is actually warm enough for bare legs now, but I’m not putting my boots away any time soon. This spring, the bugs in our garden seem hungrier than usual, and my ankles and calves are absolutely covered in bug bites. It’s… not pretty. So before those bites heal, it’s strictly pants and boots for me.

Anyway, today’s color for the Pantone challenge is hemlock. It looks kind of like a dusky mint to me, so this dress immediately comes to mind. It’s a hand-me-down from my sister, and I would love to be able to wear it more (it’s so twirly!) but I’m always stumped as to what color to pair it with, and often end up with black. Any ideas?

mint dress black blazer by 14 shades of greymint dress black blazer black boots by 14 shades of grey

mint dress black boots by 14 shades of greymint dress black blazer vintage brooch by 14 shades of grey

Dress: hand-me-down, Blazer: thrifted, Boots: Journee, Brooch: vintage

The Modern Austen

7 Comments on “Bug Fodder”

  1. Re other colors for mint: mint + peach/blush always says spring to me. Mint + white? Mint + navy (classic). Also, good idea re re-doing the tags, I wanted to see other outfits with this mint dress, and the tag worked really well.

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks. I’m so glad the tag was useful for you, at least the shoulder pain from fixing the tags was worth it! And thanks for the suggestion too!

  2. That dress is gorgeous, and super accurate to the inspiration color. I think a lot of neutrals would work for it – cream comes to mind, and for a brighter color, I think subtle red hints could be lovely.

  3. Isabella says:

    I love how the blazer, neckline and brooch come together to frame your face! So pretty, and that dress DOES look fun to wear 🙂 I agree it would also look good with navy, white, or khaki.

    adventuresinhel.blogspot.fi 

  4. Twirly dresses are the BEST! I can see how this dress would be tough to style, but I think it is so beautiful.

  5. Lovely mint dress! I think mint would pair well with navy, grey, or a neutral like denim. (Can you guess I’m trying to find more pieces you could wear with a denim jacket?!) 😉

  6. The dress! So beautiful. I have a cardigan that’s a similar color and other than black I’ve paired it with red, navy, and cream. And I’m actually wearing it later this week with brown and white.


Leave a Reply

