Colors With Silly Names

purple cardigan blue striped top polka dot scarf white jeans by 14 shades of grey

I just spent the last four days giving the entire tag system of the blog an overhaul. My shoulders are screaming from too much computer, but at least it’s done. Now you can use the tag to see how I’ve worn a certain item, or find a look by colors. It was interesting to go back to the earlier posts (there is so much WTF in some of those early outfits, like seriously, what the fuck was I thinking?) and see how my style has changed. One thing I’ve noticed is that once I moved home, I don’t wear a lot of colors anymore, it’s mostly black and blue and gray. Of course the main reason for that is my changing style and taste, but ideally, I’d like to be able to put together grown-up outfits without sacrificing colors too.

And on that note, I’m taking part in Heidi and Marissa‘s semi-annual Pantone-inspired Color challenge, or as I like to call it, the Colors with Silly Names challenge. Yesterday’s color was Radian Orchid, which is kind of a soft purple, and my cardigan is perfect for it. The weather is warming up, but very slowly, so I resisted the temptation of dressing like it’s still winter by wearing white jeans, to make the outfit more spring-appropriate.

ETA: The white jeans might be my own decision but I can’t take credit for top half of the outfit, which is lifted directly from this pin.

purple cardigan blue striped top polka dot scarf white jeans by 14 shades of greypurple cardigan blue striped top polka dot scarf white jeans by 14 shades of grey

purple cardigan blue striped top polka dot scarf by 14 shades of greywhite jeans brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

purple cardigan blue striped top polka dot scarf by 14 shades of grey

Cardigan: Forever21 (dyed by me), Top: Zara, Jeans: Calvin Klein, Sandals: Zalora, Scarf: hand-me-down

literate & stylish

7 Comments on “Colors With Silly Names”

  1. ADA says:

    I agree about Colors with Silly names. Seriously Pantone? LOL

    I love stopping here every now and then because you always look so put-together in a casual but fun way. =) Loving the two mixed prints. They work since they are the same colors. I especially love your Radiant Cardigan. Check out my Radiant Orchid piece.

    Take Care, Ada. =)

  2. This outfit is perfect. I love the pattern mixing and the soft color palette. I think you did a great job keeping this look colorful and mature! Glad you decided to link up again this week 🙂

  3. kezzie says:

    Ha ha, everyone makes fun of the Pantone colour-names, they’re funny!!! This is a lovely outfit!!! I wonder if my style will ever change, it seems to have been the same since I was 14!!!!
    Wore my SIA outfit today, how organised am I, though evil husband grumped over taking photos and shot me in ‘vivid colour ‘ mode so I look luminous-pink with weird colors!!! I’ll send over later!!! X

  4. I love everything about this! The colors, the pattern mixing, and of course the white jeans.

  5. heidi says:

    i am in love with this outfit & i’m so glad you see you joining our pantone-inspired color challenge again this year! i love the shade of your cardigan but i mean really, you had me with the stripes & polka dots!

  6. First of all, that scarf was MEANT to go with that striped top! And you made me laugh with your “Colors with Silly Names” title! Oh so true!

  7. Bri Marie says:

    Looks so amazing together – dots and stripes are just my absolute favorite lately!!


Leave a Reply

