Book Review: Warm Bodies

red striped shirt white skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

It’s been kind of a slow month in reading for me. I just downloaded a collection of 150 short stories from Tor that I’m still working my way through, I have a book on screenwriting I have to finish, and in between I started reading/watching the Chinese classics Dreams of the Red Chamber and Journey to the West again, so I decided to review “Warm Bodies” instead. Technically I read it a while ago, but I just finished translating it, so here we go. I guess you can call it a review of the movie too, because there will be some comparison.

A quick summary, for those of you who don’t know the movie: the story revolves around “R”, a zombie with an existential crisis whose world is turned upside down when he meets a Living girl, Julie, after eating her boyfriend. Together they ignite a series of events that may change the whole world. Before you reject the premise, let me explain that the logic behind the zombies in this book actually makes a lot of sense: if you think of zombie as a plague, a disease, of course it would worsen over time, instead of knocking you out right away. Here, the zombies do eat brains, but it’s because their own bodies have slowed down, so they need the fresh blood and brains to feel alive again. They will slowly waste away until they become “Boneys”, skeletons who are vicious eating machines, but even the Boneys are not completely mindless – they’re only single-minded in their purpose to keep the world as it is. That’s where R and his new sense of hope, thanks to Julie, come in.

For those who have seen the movie, I think it’s a pretty good adaptation, though the book is darker and sadder. It also goes more in-depth into the backstory of Julie and her boyfriend Perry, to explain their relationship and Julie’s relationship with R, and make their characters a lot more interesting. There are some parts in the book I find a little dragging, but that’s just because I’ve already seen the movie and known where the story is going. The movie feels more young adult, but the book has a more mature feel to it, and the writing is definitely better than your average YA novel too. So if you’ve seen the movie, I’d definitely recommend checking out the book.

A fun fact: the story is loosely based on Romeo & Juliet (I mean, that balcony scene is pretty obvious, and the characters’ names, too.)

As for the outfit, I couldn’t do a zombie apocalypse look because it would be terrible in this heat (I guess it would be a different matter if there was an actual zombie apocalypse), so here’s an outfit inspired by the book cover instead.

red striped shirt white skirt black heels by 14 shades of greyred striped shirt heart brooch by 14 shades of greyred striped shirt white skirt by 14 shades of grey

white skirt black heels by 14 shades of grey

red striped shirt white skirt by 14 shades of greyred striped shirt white skirt by 14 shades of grey

Please enjoy my best attempt at a zombie shuffle, and have a great Labor Day weekend! I’m having a long weekend too, since this Monday is our Independence Day.

Shirt: Forever21, Dress (worn as skirt): tailor-made, Belt: thrifted, Heels & Brooch: hand-me-down

3 Comments on “Book Review: Warm Bodies”

  1. Vivienne says:

    Your zombie photo cracks me up! That book sounds like fun! I love that brooch!

  2. LOVE the zombie photo and love this outfit. Thank you so much for joining in this month and for the review of “Warm Bodies.” I’ve seen the movie and didn’t know if the book was worth a read; sounds like it is so I’ll give it a shot.

    Also, you’re so right about judging a book by their cover; I usually go more by the titles than the covers but in both cases, Valeria’s Last Stand just didn’t pan out. Boo.

  3. Haha, love the zombie shot! And that brooch is lovely 🙂


Leave a Reply

