“Bomb Girls”, Season 2

bombgirls202

bombgirls203

bombgirls211

bombgirls214

bombgirls249

I spent the long Labor Day break last week catching up on season 2 of “Bomb Girls”. My verdict: I enjoyed it, though not as much as season 1. I think it’s more suitable for a 6-episode season instead of 12, because there are episodes in this season where I can definitely sense the writers scrambling for a storyline, while the continuity in other storylines is not carried through at all. Not to spoil it for anyone, but suffice to say there are a couple of big events at the beginning and the middle of this season, but by the end it’s like they’ve never happened at all.

bombgirls218

bombgirls221

bombgirls223

bombgirls224

bombgirls250

Same with season 1, I still find Betty’s and Kate’s storylines much more interesting and think that they should be developed more, while rolling my eyes so hard at Gladys’ storyline. Not to mention that the guy playing her new love interest has the worst fake British accent I have ever heard. He sounds so annoying that I turned the sound off whenever he appears in a scene – it’s not like I’m that interested in Gladys to begin with. Still, it’s fun to watch in a nighttime soap opera kind of way, and the costumes are pretty.

bombgirls226

bombgirls229

bombgirls228

bombgirls235

The show won’t be renewed for a third season, which I would be OK with had it not ended on a cliffhanger (just like The Hours – crap, maybe I should stop reviewing all these new shows. Both new shows I reviewed didn’t make it past the second season!) Well, I’d live. But if you want to save the show, you can go here.

bombgirls237

bombgirls240

bombgirls242

bombgirls243

bombgirls246

bombgirls248

bombgirls255

One Comment on ““Bomb Girls”, Season 2”

  1. I would totally watch this for the costumes. Even if the storyline wasn’t that great.


Leave a Reply

