To Chop Or Not To Chop

striped shirt midi skirt heeled loafers by 14 shades of grey

This skirt is another one that I commandeered from my mom. The waist definitely needs to be taken in a bit, but I’m debating whether to shorten it or not. I like the flowing length (and the fact that I don’t need to shave my legs when I wear it :P) but it looks a little… sister wife, right? What do you guys think? Should I shorten it to the knees, or just take off a couple of inches to keep it a midi?

striped shirt midi skirt by 14 shades of greystriped shirt midi skirt heeled loafers by 14 shades of grey

striped shirt midi skirt heeled loafers by 14 shades of grey

striped shirt midi skirt heeled loafers by 14 shades of greystriped shirt watch locket by 14 shades of grey

I got photo-bombed by Taco again…

striped shirt midi skirt with taco by 14 shades of greystriped shirt midi skirt heeled loafers with taco by 14 shades of grey

T-shirt & Belt: Forever21, Skirt: hand-me-down, Heels: Payless, Necklace: Icing

8 Comments on “To Chop Or Not To Chop”

  1. Only a couple of inches. It’s a perfect flowy skirt!

  2. I think it looks great the way you styled it. I am a sucker for a good midi, because I am also a leg-shaving hater.
    http://thismummasstyle.wordpress.com/

  3. juli says:

    It’s cute. If you wear it with heels you either need to shorten it a few inches, or else see if you can let it down a bit. Right now it does look “sister wife” (does that mean old lady?)
    That said, I think this length might work with flats, though.
    Why not take a few photos with different shoes, pinned up and lenghtened, and then decide? Oftentimes photos tell us more than a mirror.

    • Salazar says:

      Ha, no, “sister wife” means those women all married to one guy in a polygamous cult (like in the show “Big Love”). But I guess it does look a bit old lady too. If I don’t take in the waist and let it fall to my ankles I guess it can work as a maxi skirt.

  4. Jess says:

    Hahahahahahahaha I love the sister wife reference so much. It hits at an awkward spot now, but I think a couple inches should be good. For some reason I’m finding skirts below the knee appealing right now, and I think if you took off…maybe 4 inches? This skirt would be the perfect length.

  5. Franziska says:

    haha while I think the length is fine, a few inches off what take it into the modern world for sure. It’s really pretty though, and I love it paired with the stripes.

  6. I think you should keep it a midi, and just take a few inches off. The flowiness is great, and it makes you look taller. 🙂 I LOVE this outfit. I need a striped sweater, stat.

  7. I may be outvoted, but I say make it short. 😉 To the knees would look great.


Leave a Reply

