Style Imitating Art: Klimt & Fashion

Given how Klimt and the subject of this portrait, Emilie Flöge, designed most of the gowns worn in his paintings, I can’t think of a more appropriate inspiration to kick start Style Imitating Art 2013:

Gustav_Klimt-Portrait_of_Emilie_Floge

First up we have Jen of Librarian for Life and Style, who couldn’t find anything in her closet that works, so she decided to create four marvelous Polyvore sets that offer year-round interpretations of the painting’s rich colors and gold accents. My favorite is Winter; which one’s yours?

week1-librarianforlifestyle01week1-librarianforlifestyle02

week1-librarianforlifestyle03 week1-librarianforlifestyle04

Next is Teddi of Honeybee Lane, whose usage of texture and metallic accessories is spot-on:

week1-honeybeelane

Rebekah of From the Mixed Up Files is wondering if she should keep or donate this cardigan in this outfit – I’d say keep, don’t you agree?

week01-fromthemixedupfiles

We have a new participant this week – Madeline, all the way from Hungary! Welcome to SIA, Madeline. Doesn’t she look lovely in her print dress?

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Not only does my co-creator, Jess, have a lovely outfit, but her photo location (the Neon Museum in Vegas) is super cool too:

week01-animatedcardigan

The always awesome Pao of Project Minima contributes this badass kimono:

week01-projectminima

Then it’s Noelle of Tilly’s Notions with the perfect beaded shirt:

week01-tillysnotions

And finally, here’s me. Full outfit post to come tomorrow:

polka dot skirt sequin belt by 14 shades of grey

It never ceases to amaze me, the different interpretations you can get from just one painting. Thank you ladies!

7 Comments on “Style Imitating Art: Klimt & Fashion”

  1. Jess says:

    Oh maaaaaaan I love basically everything about everyone’s outfits but I especially adore Noelle’s top! And I vote fall for Jen’s Polyvores–that dress is too cute. & I actually owned the same cardigan as Rebekah in black and donated mine a little while ago! It’s kind of a tricky pattern to style.

  2. I love these challenges and everyone’s interpretation! I vote yes on keeping Rebekah’s cardigan. My personal favorite of the Polyvore sets is also Winter — those handpainted tights are mesmerizing — but I would also, if given the chance, show all the sets a good time. Especially you, Summer, with those cool sandals. You would love my closet. 😉

  3. Brilliant! I love to see everyone’s versions! Thank you for featuring me. 🙂

  4. Noelle says:

    Thanks, Jess! I thought the colors and pattern of your outfit was amazing and I can’t believe you just happened to have such a perfect dress with you on your trip!

    Everyone looks awesome! Great tribute to a gorgeous painting 🙂

  5. teddi says:

    did you know style imitating art is one of my favorite things to look at? i like the creativity of everyone. 🙂


Leave a Reply

