“The Hour”, Season 2

Since I’m still recovering from food poisoning, here are some pretty screencaps from the second season of The Hour (well, there goes my resolution about posting “quality over quantity”.) This season ramps up both the mystery and the romantic tension in the story, resulting in something I find a little all over the place. Last season focuses solely on the Suez Crisis, but this season introduces us to a convoluted plot that deals with the nuclear scare, organized crime, police corruption, and even touches on prejudice against immigrants and homosexuals. Yes, all these things are relevant to the era, but putting them in one single season like this feels a bit much.

I like all the personal subplots though. Freddie returns from a 9-month soul-searching trip with some surprises; Bel is turning into Freddie with her relentless pursuit of a story; Hector’s perfect anchorman veneer begins to show some cracks, while his wife Marnie proves that she’s no Betty Draper; and Lix finally gets the attention she deserves with a heart-wrenching backstory with new head of news Randall Brown (I would watch a show about those two alone). Overall, I enjoy this season enough to hope that the show gets renewed.

thehour206

thehour209

thehour211

thehour212

thehour214

thehour218
Check out that 1958’s party fare… Gross

thehour224

thehour229

thehour232

thehour234

thehour235

thehour236

thehour237

thehour251

thehour250

thehour249

thehour227

thehour259

thehour263

thehour272

2 Comments on ““The Hour”, Season 2”

  1. Oh my goodness, I have not heard of this show but I think I must find a way to watch it! It looks fantastic!
    I hope you feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

