Silly Putty Pumps

My sister and I just had an argument about nude shoes (pumps, specifically) the other day because she tried to push her old pair (which her post-baby feet had outgrown) on me. My sister insists that they’re awesome because they go with everything. I, on the other hand, have been educated in the Tom and Lorenzo School of Fashion Critique, and therefore can’t not refer to them as “Silly Putty pumps.” I think that they work in specific cases (with pants and with pale neutrals, according to TLo) but most of the time they just seem like such an unimaginative styling choice. And I have yet to see a woman whose legs look longer because she’s wearing nude shoes. It doesn’t help that my sister’s pair have all the elements that get me twitchy – nude color, peep-toe, platform heels. No thanks.

What about  you guys? What’s your opinion on nude pumps? Actually, let me quote TLo once more. Nude pumps – Yea or Nay?

Shirt: Old Navy, Jeans: Wet Seal, Shoes: Mudd, Brooch: vintage (everything thrifted except for the brooch)

6 Comments on “Silly Putty Pumps”

  1. I can’t decide. Last year, I felt like I needed a pair, but I still haven’t figured out if I actually like them or not. I think it’s kind of the same reason flesh-colored nail polish weirds me out – do I want to look like I don’t have fingernails? Or in this case, that I don’t have feet or toes? I don’t know. I’m like 6′ tall almost; do I really need longer legs? I never thought of the silly-putty thing before, but I can see it, haha.

  2. Kristina says:

    I think nude pumps are boring. Then again, I tend to go overboard with patterns and colors, so…
    I love your shirt.

  3. CC says:

    I love a nude shoe especially when I am wearing brights and don’t want my shoe to compete.

    • Salazar says:

      See, in those cases I think a pair of solid pumps in a contrasting color or even black would be so much more interesting than the silly putty kind… but then again I have a prejudice against them.

  4. Franziska says:

    yay!

    I love the print of that shirt – your pants are a fun addition. I’m jealous of how sunny it is where you are.

  5. Megan says:

    Ok, I first read your title as “Slutty Pity Pumps” and I did a double-take! 😀

    I think the RIGHT pair of nude pumps can be really classy and I have seen them make shorter women look longer. On the flipside, I’ve seen them look kinda trashy with certain outfits, so I think it just depends on how they’re worn.


Leave a Reply

