Leaves In The River

While I read movie scripts, I’m usually looking for a main character that is proactive – that is, someone who leads the actions rather than just reacts to things. To do the same in life, however, is another matter. If they made a movie about my life, I would be criticized as a “passive protagonist”, because I tend to go with the flow. I think the only time I made a big decision is when I went to film school; everything after that just sort of… happened. Things didn’t exactly fall into my lap, but I didn’t actively make them happen either. I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not – on the one hand, you shouldn’t go through life aimlessly; on the other hand, having no fixed goal means that you’re more flexible when something unexpected happens.

When I’m in the middle of something – school, internship – this attitude makes me confident that I’m always ready for the next thing, whatever it is, but right now, when I’m in an “in-between” period of my life, it makes me feel particularly unproductive and restless. It really is like being a leaf in a river.

All this sounds more negative than I intended. It’s just been a sloooooooow day.

T-shirt: Target (thrifted), Skirt: thrifted, Belt: Forever21
Flats: LA Fashion District, Bracelet: self-made
Post title: song by Sea Wolf

2 Comments on “Leaves In The River”

  1. Megan says:

    I know that feeling, like you’re treading water and just waiting for the next big move.

    Well, you look adorable! Love the skirt and belt together.

  2. I can understand you completely. I am trying to get myself set goals and work on achieving them singlemindedly.
    My problem is that I have lots of dreams but lack concentration.

    Your outfit is so simple but elegant. Bracelet, belt and shoes add such interesting details. Love the background too. So serene.
    xx
    maya


Leave a Reply

