I Find The Map And Draw A Straight Line

Not much to say about this outfit except I need a new pair of sandals. Something more open-toed, preferably.

Anyway, this has nothing to do with the outfit, obviously, but I just found it funny how memories affect our perception of things. The other day I was describing my bus route to school and to work back in LA to my family, and suddenly it struck me: I still feel like I could just walk out of our door and take the same buses to the same locations. The fact that those places are halfway across the world doesn’t register to me. I don’t feel the distance at all – or perhaps the distance is so great that I can’t feel it.

Or maybe I do miss LA after all, no matter what I say.


I had a haircut, by the way. It’s not exactly noticeable

Blouse: Target, Skirt: thrifted & dyed by me
Belt: Vietnamese shop, Sandals: Easy Spirit (thrifted)
Post title: lyric from Snow Patrol’s Set the Fire to the Third Bar

2 Comments on “I Find The Map And Draw A Straight Line”

  1. Jeannee says:

    Salazar, WOW! I think that happens when you have lived either alot of places or very different places. I am living again in a place I previously resided in … yet sometimes when I think as I walk out the door “I have to go to the supermarket” my mind slots back into the last place I lived – “well I have to go on New Circle and take exit -no! I don’t live THERE!!!” At least the longer I live here, the less it happens – maybe u too!

  2. Megan says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I’ve moved around a lot, and I find that I will see someone that resembles someone I know from another city and I will get so confused and think I’m still in that city… so weird.

    You look cute! Love these colors together 🙂


Leave a Reply

