How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love Self-Portraits

Not much to say about today’s outfit (2 of 30), so I’m going to talk about something else instead. It’s funny what taking pictures of yourself almost every day can teach you. It taught me to stand up straight, because in some of the photos I look like I’m a humpback whenever I turn sideways. It taught me to smile so I wouldn’t look so sour-faced all the time. And most importantly, it taught me to accept the way I look.

I used to hate having my pictures taken because I was really self-conscious about my features. My face is too long, my nose too rounded, my eyes too bulging, my lashes too thin and short, etc. The only thing I like is my hair. When I started the blog, it was obvious – I tried to hide my face whenever I could and there was no close-up shot. As the blog grew, I also became more comfortable with my face and photographing it.  But it’s not until today, when I rejected my mom’s suggestion that I got rid of a mole on my face, that I realized how comfortable I am. I feel my face would be so bland, so incomplete without it.

So while the “love” in the title may be too strong of a word (I just wanted a Dr. Strangelove parody), I am perfectly happy with how I look.


I’m not wearing any accessory today, so I have to rely on Taco again

T-shirt: Old Navy, Jeans: Forever21, Flats: shop in LA’s Fashion District

9 Comments on “How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love Self-Portraits”

  1. Good for you! I’ve also realized what a big difference standing up straight can make!
    –TS

  2. ki. says:

    I totally understand. It is hard putting yourself and your insecurities about yourself out there for everyone to see!

  3. 1. Casual you is so lovely. 2. This is a great inspiration for me, I make a lot of really bad facial expressions in my photos and feel doubly insecure because my facial features and my jaw are relatively crooked… which is tricky to feel okay about. But, I suppose I should just own it.
    And Taco is totally adorable.

  4. Mara says:

    I really, really love your shirt. And this whole outfit, actually. It’s so simple, yet chic and I’d steal it. 😀
    And I’m glad you’re comfortable with yourself in pictures! I think you are lovely, and you should definitely not get rid of your mole. Cuz moles (and freckles) are awesome, in my opinion.

  5. Avy says:

    I love the Dr. Strangelove reference!

    /Avy

    http://mymotherfuckedmickjagger.blogspot.com

    ♥

  6. Cortney A. says:

    It really is surprising how photographing yourself every day can change how you see yourself and what you do in photographs. 🙂 I also have terrible posture, so standing up straight really does make a huge difference!

    I also have a mole on my face, but I don’t mind it. 🙂 I have tons of freckles too, so it kind of blends in. 🙂

  7. Jeannee says:

    Love the share, the OOTD, and that doggy!

  8. Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

    I totally understand the feeling of not liking your own face (and various parts of the body). However, you have a very cute face! I am glad to hear that you have learned to appreciate it!

  9. anon says:

    your face isn’t long at all, believe me. 🙂 your pics are very pretty by the way!


Leave a Reply

