Green On Green

Sorry for the late post, but I want to give everybody more time to send in their outfit photos for this week’s Style Imitating Art. Is it bad form to take a break from the 30×30 challenge when I’ve got just one outfit under my belt? Well, I have to, because today is my turn to host. The inspiration painting is Still Life with Asparagus by Adriaen Coorte:

I actually wore this outfit last week, on the one day it was cool, almost fall-like (of course, by the time I got around to taking photos, the sun was out again and I still sweated like a pig.) Like I said, I picked this specific painting because I have a shirt in that exact color. It proved to be a little difficult to photograph, because our garden is green everywhere as well, but I can’t complain about that 🙂

Shirt: Vietnamese shop, Pants: thrifted, Flats: Payless
Belt: borrowed from a Target skirt, Bracelet: self-made

Let’s see what my fellow bloggers come up with, shall we? First up is Pao of Project Minima. I love how she always makes sure her photos match the inspiration painting:

Then it’s Rebekah of From the Mixed-up Files. Isn’t that an adorable dress?

Here’s my lovely co-creator Jess of Animated Cardigan:

And last but not least, our awesome guest-host, Vivienne of Thrifted Shift:

I’m so happy to see how much this little idea of ours has grown. And remember, if you want to host, or simply want to suggest a painting, shoot me and/or Jess an email! Thank you!

4 Comments on “Green On Green”

  1. Fun post! I always like to see everyone’s interpretation! I like the textures in your outfit, I think they’re a nice accompaniment to the textures in the painting!
    –TS

  2. pao says:

    I love everyone’s different shades of green. Who knew asparagus could be so stimulating?! Thanks again for hosting Style Imitates Art.

    p.s. I would never wear this outfit in real life, art for art’s sake and all that…

  3. Jess says:

    Not bad form, because I did it too! Oh well. Everyone looks so lovely!

  4. Mara says:

    Ah, I want to join in! I keep forgetting to enter one.


Leave a Reply

