A Question Of Accessories

If there’s an aspect of personal style that I’m still struggling with after all this time, it’s accessorizing. I don’t like wearing a lot of jewelries; the only kind of jewelries I wear consistently is brooches, but they don’t go with everything. Take this outfit, for example (also, sorry it’s such a wrinkled mess.) The headband is more functional than decorative. I know some bangles or bracelets would give it more interest, but I don’t feel like wearing them. So I put this out there in the hope for some piece of advice – how do you go about accessorizing an outfit?

I guess now that I’m at home, I can always accessorize with one of our pets. The kitty may be too skittish, but our dog Taco is always happy to be included (he loves to be petted so much, he practically melts every time I touch him.)

Shirt: borrowed from my mom’s, Shorts: Old Navy (thrifted & dyed by me)
Sandals: Easy Spirit (thrifted), Headband: hand-me-down

8 Comments on “A Question Of Accessories”

  1. Sue says:

    Style blog + cute dog = super win! As for non-furry accessories, how about a floral belt (or a scarf folded and used as a belt)? And/or bright flip-flops.

  2. teddi says:

    oh my you look cute, & so does your dog! accessories are my favorite thing. you have to feel comfortable though. maybe try one thing at a time: a bold pair of earrings, or a statement necklace, or a focal point belt, or a dynamic headband, or a fine pair of shoes, or stack of bracelets. the most important thing, overall though, is feeling comfortable & confident while remaining true to yourself. 🙂

  3. mariecarolk says:

    I love the shorts! I’ve never been able to wear brightly colored clothes like that. I’m definitely going to have to start trying 🙂 That dog is adorable by the way.

  4. Mel says:

    THe dog is the best accessory!

  5. Faith says:

    I’m loving all your photos lately! Looks like your family has a beautiful home. 🙂

  6. Cara says:

    I love the colours in your pictures since you’ve moved home! Everything looks so vibrant!

  7. I totally hear you about accessories. I wear my watch and my my wedding ring daily. Usually some kind of necklace. Other than that, I don’t want too much stuff on me! I can rarely deal with bracelets, dangly earrings, stuff on my head… and make-up- ack. A belt is a step forward for me. I can usually deal with that. You look great. No need for anything else. Also, I totally want to give Taco a head rub.
    –TS

  8. Loren says:

    The chambray & shorts is a great choice when it get warm outside. I’m still trying to work out accessories myself. I have short hair so I’m a big fan of the dangly earrings. But even something small like a string of pearls or a small silver necklace can help pick up an outfit.
    I love the layered jewelry where ladies wear like six necklaces, but I’m terrible at that look. I think we’ll both work it out eventually though. 😉


Leave a Reply

