The Night Is Dark And Full Of Terrors

It’s proof of how obsessed I am with Game of Thrones that when I first tried this maxi dress on, I immediately thought of Melisandre instead of, say, the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. Even though the Queen of Hearts is a lot more likely wear black-and-red stripes than Melisandre, who wears all red. For those of you who don’t know GoT, Melisandre is a priestess (I think her official title is “shadow binder”) in the court of Stannis Baratheon. Who is Stannis? Check out this awesome comparison of GoT to the 2012 US Presidential Election – he’s the first guy. There was a rumor before season 2 casting that Christopher Eccleston was considered to play Stannis, which would have been a dream come true for me, but now, having seen Stephen Dillane in that role, I think they made a good choice. Eccleston is a little too intense.

… OK, this is turning into a GoT post. See what I mean when I said I’m obsessed? I will stop now.

Dress & Shirt: thrifted, Sneakers: Converse, Necklace: self-made

5 Comments on “The Night Is Dark And Full Of Terrors”

  1. Rifka says:

    I love how you put that outfit together! Too bad you stopped the dress challenge! This would have been a great addition!

    Keep on doing it 🙂

    Rifka

  2. Cecilia says:

    Love this outfit! You did a great job of mixing patterns dear! Would love if you checked out my Thursday link party or thriftfanatics page (;

    xx
    Cecilia
    dearestlou.com

  3. Great outfit, and I am so with you on the awesomeness of GoT. I’m on the 5th book right now and most of the way through the first season of the show. I haven’t seen season 2 yet, but not sure how I would feel about Christopher Eccleston as Stannis… I would keep thinking, “The Doctor! I love him!” which would conflict strongly with my feelings of “Stannis! I hate him!”

  4. Cortney A. says:

    Game of Thrones is so amazing. I rather like Melisandre, though at first I thought she wasn’t frightening enough. Silly me. 🙂

    Also–we need to discuss Game of Thrones! 🙂

  5. Mara says:

    Wow, I LOVE this outfit! That dress is fantastic, and I love that instead of toning it down with simple pieces (as most people would do) you paired it with another pattern! So great!


Leave a Reply

