How Many Ways

The 30 Days of Dresses challenge has made me realize several reasons why I don’t wear dresses enough. One is that most of my dresses are kinda short. The other, more obvious reason, is that I always struggle with how to style a dress in an interesting way. With separates you can mix and match, but with a dress you can only throw a cardigan/blazer/shirt on top of it. Take this outfit for example – I’ve worn this combination (usually with the same boots and belt) more times than I care to remember. Am I wrong? Are there more ways to style a dress that I can’t think of? (I know there’s folding down the top of a dress to wear it like a skirt, but to me it’s cheating a little bit.)

Dress, Cardigan: thrifted, Boots: Bamboo (thrifted)
Belt & Tights: Forever21

7 Comments on “How Many Ways”

  1. Faith says:

    I love that dress! It looks awesome with the floral cardi!

    I am also jealous of your beautiful scenery as of late. We’re still struggling through 40 degree temps here. šŸ˜¦

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks Faith! It’s been nice and cool here the past couple of days, but it’s going to get hot again. Still, I don’t envy you – 40 degrees sound horrible.

  2. Cleo says:

    Hum… Long-sleeve tee under the dress instead of jacket over (but depends on neckline)? Using an open button-down instead of a jacket on top? Shirt or sweater on top (no folding – for instance, I think this dress would be really cool with a thin sweater letting the collar show)?
    In reality for me it’s all about switching color combos (tights and cardigan, in general, since I don’t own very many shoes), though…

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, see, to me it’s still just throwing things on top/underneath it… but I guess when you look at it like that, there aren’t any other way to style pretty much anything šŸ˜›

  3. Mel says:

    Beautiful combination. If something works that well, what’s the harm in wearing it over and over again? šŸ™‚

  4. Loren says:

    I’ve been discovering the same during this challenge. I really like most of my dresses, but a lot of them hang in my closet for a long time because I feel like it is ‘boring’ to wear them the same way every time. Folding them down/wearing them like a skirt definitely opens up a lot more possibilities though. I’m not going to give up just yet.

  5. Megan says:

    I love this cardigan paired with this dress. I know what you mean about dresses, but they are still my favorite item to wear since they’re so easy! It’s always fun to play around with different belts, cardigans/blazers, and pairing them with different shoes.


Leave a Reply

