Homage To The Square

I took a break from the 30 Days of Dresses for this week’s Style Imitating Art. This is an easy one, since the inspiration, Homage to the Square: Blue, White, Grey by Josef Albers (who, incidentally, was my friend Debbi’s great-uncle), has all of my favorite colors and the clean lines that translate well into an outfit.

The striped shirt is a no-brainer, and even though my shorts are more mint than blue, it’s close enough in the color wheel. The only part in the painting that stumped me a bit is the silvery grey, which I tried to represent in my flats, but I felt it was not enough. Then I remembered my glass pendant I got from Venice – it not only has the right color, but the right shape too. It’s the perfect finishing touch.

Here’s Jess’ interpretation – I love the mixing of stripes. And I have serious skirt envy too πŸ™‚

Shirt: Forever21, Shorts: Express (thrifted & dyed by me)
Flats: thrifted, Necklace: gift shop in Venice (it’s the zodiac symbol of my sign, Leo)

Nautical | Everybody, Everywear

5 Comments on “Homage To The Square”

  1. Jess says:

    I love the mint! I think it’s still really true to the painting–the outer box is really that same cool hue, and it works for me. And I love the braided hair. If I could have shaped a bun into a square, I would have done that πŸ˜€

  2. Great looks! I like the square necklace and the chevrons. I still want to play but can’t until tomorrow!

  3. Loren says:

    You look adorable, nice job with the interpretation! I totally couldn’t think of anything for this one but after seeing both of your outfits I have a million ideas for what ‘could have been’.
    Also, love your final photo sitting in the grass.

  4. Anh says:

    You always take such great pictures! I really like the blue stripes. Such bright colors!

  5. Love that top. Nautical indeed. And cute too. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

