Hypnotizing Polka Dots On The Beach

Do you guys know Missed Connections? It’s a blog and a book with illustrations by Sophie Blackall based on the “Missed Connections” section on Craigslist. At the risk of sounding like a hipster, I love how quirky and whimsical it all is (I can already see some Paris Je T’aime kind of movie from it), and this outfit is inspired by a similar encounter (or a missed encounter, to be exact) I had on the beach last Saturday.

My “Missed Connections” listing would probably go something like this:

Saw you at Paradise Cove last Saturday. You wore this amazing dress with a really cool polka dot pattern, a mustard cardigan, matching shoes, and an enamel flower brooch. A guy was taking pictures of you, I wonder what for. Anyway, thanks for the inspiration, and can I have your brooch?

Alas, I can’t draw like Sophie Blackall does, so here’s a stalker-ish photo instead:

I’m also trying out this idea I saw on Pinterest – tying a ribbon around your foot to dress up flats. It’s cute for pictures, but definitely not recommended if you intend to walk a long time in them, because sooner or later the ribbons will fall off.


Caught this confused little guy on my ribbon; he flew off right after I snapped the picture

Dress: Zara, Cardigan: Target (thrifted), Belt: Forever21
Flats: Payless, Pin: vintage via MODaccessoiries

5 Comments on “Hypnotizing Polka Dots On The Beach”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    Wonderful inspiration and great interpretation!

    I also love that you included the stalker-y photo. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that takes stalker-y photos. 🙂

  2. I’m always a sucker for black and white prints with yellow- it’s such a great combination! And I absolutely love the pattern on your dress!

  3. I like that blog, it’s adorable! Thanks for the link! I also love your ballet flats with ribbons, I thought they were tap shoes that you were wearing out! You look fresh yet classic.
    –TS

  4. Kendra says:

    I love the stalker photo! What a great inspiration outfit, you pulled it off very well! Love love this outfit, and the ribbon idea;)

  5. Great cardigan! and I love those shoes…makes me wanna dance;O)

    Thanks for linking up!!

    Shana
    ColorBlind


Leave a Reply

