Kryptonite

If you have been reading the blog for a while, you know how I am with kids. I’m not just bad with them, I have a nearly crippling fear of them. So imagine my horror, when I was setting up my tripod to take these photos and a little girl out walking with her mom came running up to me with this huge grin on her face. In that moment I felt like one of those victims in Godzilla (even though the girl only comes up to my knees.) Then she said “Hi!”, and for a panicked second I almost screamed “Get it off me! Get it off me!” before I realized she was nowhere that close to me. I managed to squeak out a breathless “Hello” and walked on, so hopefully the mom didn’t think I was a weirdo (I totally am though.)

That has nothing to do with the outfit, because I don’t have much to say about the outfit. Except this: I just realized all my dresses are on the short side. Only a couple of them come below my knees. Maybe that’s why I don’t wear them often enough.

Dress & belt: thrifted, Flats: Payless

13 Comments on “Kryptonite”

  1. Sabrina says:

    I love the pop of red in the belt against the print of the dress. These are really gorgeous photos too!

    Sincerely,
    Sabrina

  2. Mara says:

    I love your shoes!
    And my boyfriend would totally relate with you and kids. He’s not too fond of them, especially the “fresh” ones (babies). 😀

    • Salazar says:

      I’m actually OK w/ babies as long as I’m not responsible of taking care of them. Yeah they cry and make a mess, but at least you don’t have to talk to them. It’s the toddlers that I’m scared of the most – you’re obliged to make conversation with them, but you can’t understand them and they don’t understand you. That’s the worst.

      • Mara says:

        I know what you mean! I find toddler conversations kind of funny… up until the point they get all teary because they need something and you can’t give it to them due to the communication difficulties…

  3. I’m sorry you got mobbed by the little goober. Perhaps asking to take the child’s photo next time will be a step toward diffusing the fear?
    Aaanyway, the sleeves are my favorite part of this dress- I love the slight fullness.

    • Salazar says:

      Ha! I think asking to take the kid’s photo might actually make me look even creepier! Hopefully being around my niece once I move home would help…

  4. caroleleah says:

    Your dresses are all the perfect length! You’e so petite that it seems below-knee length dresses would swallow you up. You always dress very modestly, and dresses at just a few inches above the knee certainly don’t argue with your general look. I’ve never commented before, but just wanted to stop in and say that I’m a regular “lurker”, and quite enjoy your blog. You always look cute and charming, and manage to combine things in very creative ways while still being frugal. You are the source of lots of good ideas!

  5. Haha! That’s pretty much how I am around adults. If there is even one kid (no matter the age) at any kind of gathering I am at, I would rather, and often do, spend the whole night with the kid rather than the grown ups… I really hope that doesn’t make me seem like a creeper lol, kids are just WAY easier to socialize with if you ask me, and they’re fun 🙂

    Love those shoes by the way 🙂

    • Salazar says:

      I can understand that, but I’m always afraid I would break the kid (either physically or emotionally) by saying/doing the wrong thing. And how you are with kids at parties is like how I am with pets. If the host has a pet, you can bet that I’ll spend the entire party making friends with it instead of socializing.

  6. Cara says:

    I adore the plaid! And children, but I do get they are not for everyone. You and kids are like me and dogs

  7. Audrey says:

    You definitely had me chuckling about the little girl. I love your belt!

  8. Megan says:

    “hopefully the mom didn’t think I was a weirdo (I totally am though.)” that made me laugh 🙂

    You look adorable, love the pattern mixing with the dress and shoes.

  9. Loren says:

    I love this dress on you it’s so sweet.
    I used to be really awkward/terrible around children. Especially ones that are not related to me. And then I got a job at a toy store & discovered they are just tiny people, tiny people who get to play with all the COOL toys.
    Except babies, I’m still a little terrified of babies.


Leave a Reply

