A Sock Hop Beneath My Bed

I’m joining the lovely Mara of Eccentric Owl in the 30 Days of Dresses challenge. I don’t have 30 dresses, but I’m going to try and see how many I can wear consecutively before I come running back to pants. Even though I’m better at wearing more dresses and skirts now, to me they’re never going to be as comfy as pants. What about you? Are you more of a dress/skirt girl or a pants/jeans girl?

I almost wore my oxfords and ankle socks with this outfit, because it would complete that “sock hop” look – full skirt, cardigan, saddle shoes. But a knee-length dress and ankle socks is not a good combination for my short legs, and I should also try to stop making every outfit into a themed costume. So I went with heels instead.

Dress: Anne Klein (thrifted), Cardigan: thrifted
Shoes: Payless, Brooch: vintage
Post title: lyric from Owl City’s Fireflies

And I haven’t forgotten – it’s my turn to pick the Style Imitating Art inspiration again! Since Jess went with an orange color scheme last time, I thought I’d go on the complementary end of the spectrum and picked Homage to the Square: Blue, White, Grey by Josef Albers:

Have fun, and remember to send me your outfit pictures by Sunday evening!

7 Comments on “A Sock Hop Beneath My Bed”

  1. Mara says:

    I love it! I’ve always really liked the look of jean dresses, but good ones like yours are so hard to find!
    And I love the brooch at the neck. I could never pull off wearing mine like that, but it looks so cute on you!

  2. Cortney A. says:

    I love Owl City’s “Fireflies” 🙂

    Also that dress is gorgeous! I’ve always envied girls who can pull off a denim dress. 🙂

  3. mel says:

    Omygosh! Just found your blog and LOVE it! Another girl obsessed with vintage clothes and good books. Yea!

  4. Cara says:

    Oh to be in a climate where I could participate too! It was below freezing here! I do like the dress, and am glad you didn’t go too costume-y with it.

  5. mariecarolk says:

    Hi there!
    I’m visiting from Mara’s blog 🙂 Just wanted to say I love the outfit and your blog background/layout stuff! Have a beautiful day!

    Marie

  6. Loren says:

    Very cute dress, really I love those shoes with it.

  7. […] check out 14 Shades of Grey’s first 30-Days (ish) dress. It’s […]


Leave a Reply

