Grazed Knees

This outfit cost a lot of blood, sweat, and tears. Well, tears not so much, but certainly blood and sweat. You see, for this month’s EBEW, “Pastels”, I decided to take a chance on mint. I figured as long as the color is not close to my face, I’d be fine. So I dug out my old pair of white shorts and dyed them in a light shade of teal, mixed with a splash of green. So far, so good. But then…

I’d wanted to pair them with my floral wedges. However, I had a little accident going up the stairs, scraped up my knees (you can kinda see it in the photos) and busted the wedges. I tried telling myself that they’re too heavy to pack anyway, but still, tears. So I decided to pair the shorts with polka dots instead – I had my favorite ice cream flavor, mint chocolate chip, in mind. Only I didn’t have any polka dot top. So I spent an afternoon breaking my back painting polka dots on this T-shirt (using this tutorial). I guess when I’m not allowed to shop, I need to channel that… urge into something else, which is why I’ve been dying and refashioning like mad these past few weeks.

Happily, everything came out right in the end. Even if I did put way more effort into this outfit than necessary.

T-shirt: Forever21 (refashioned by me), Shorts: Express (thrifted & dyed by me)
Scarf: Target, Belt: from home, Sandals: Easy Spirit (thrifted)
Post title: song by Snow Patrol (the video’s a North and South fan vid I made)

Image 4554

12 Comments on “Grazed Knees”

  1. Yikes, sorry about your knee and your wedges! The outfit turned out great, though. I have a pair of white shorts that have been stained (It was last summer, so I can’t even remember with what, but they’re white, so go figure) and out of commission, and I didn’t even think to dye them. Looks like I have a project coming up!

  2. preethi says:

    Wow – I’m so impressed. Both turned out adorable!

    preethilace, etc.

  3. Wow, you worked so hard! I never would have guessed, this look looks breezily effortless. Have a great day!
    –TS

  4. Harley says:

    that last picture is easily one of the best things I have ever seen. love the dye job!

  5. wow- both great projects! I never even thought you could make your own polkadots on a tee- they look so regular! And mint with rust is one of my favorite combos ever- glad you persisted

    (and there must be something about these EBEW challenges- they’re hardcore- last year I ended up with a huge gash on my foot while trying to get shots for the floral edition- it took 2 months to heal!

  6. WOW! Those shorts AND that top came out SO well! Way to be an awesome little DIY diva! It does help the shopping bug a bit doesn’t it?!

  7. Jess says:

    Nooo tragic! I think thatdamngreendress is right though–when EBEW had the sparkle challenge, I scraped the daylights out of my leg climbing onto a picture spot that I ended up hating. But the shorts turned out amazing and actually I think I like the outfit with brown shoes, it anchors it a bit. I like it!

  8. Love the photo of you jumping. This is so happy and fun and inspirational! Just found you via EBEW! Warmest Regards, Whitley Adkins Hamlin

  9. Megan says:

    Well, I’m impressed! Sorry to hear about your knee and the wedges though 😦 Love the jumping pic! Awesome πŸ™‚

  10. Loren says:

    The top & shorts look great! Sorry about your knees though.
    You’ve been doing a great job lately on the refashioning front!

  11. Great outfit. I really like the mint and orange colour combo, its really pretty!

    Daisy Dayz
    Cross-Jones-Photography

  12. Cortney A. says:

    Can I just say that all that effort was totally worth it? LOVE the mint shorts!


Leave a Reply

