Bolinus brandaris

After this week’s SIA challenge, I realized that I wanted a purple cardigan. Since I’ve sworn off shopping until after the move home (having to pack your entire closet into two 50-lb suitcases is a very good incentive for a shopping ban. And I already have 85 lbs. of books), it’s dye job to the rescue. Recognize the cardigan? It’s my “lab coat” cardigan. It’s too baggy, and I couldn’t find any way to make it look less like a lab coat, so I’m happy with how it came out.

Bolinus brandaris is the species of mollusk used to produce Tyrian purple dye (the color worn by Ancient Roman royalty.) I’m not sure if this purple is Tyrian or not, but I like to be pretentious 😛

Shirt: Old Navy (thrifted), Cardigan: Forever 21, dyed by me
Jeans & Belt: Target, Booties: Madden Girl (thrifted), Necklace: self-made

8 Comments on “Bolinus brandaris”

  1. BRILLIANT! And much cuter. The skinny pant/ booties combo is also sooooo good for this adorably transitional look.

  2. postcentric says:

    Love this outfit! And the photos are amazing. Congrats on the move!

  3. I love your outfit and these photos are beautiful! Good luck with the clothes.

    Jess

  4. Loren says:

    The color looks great. You did a nice job dying it.
    I’m not sure how I would do packing all of my stuff up into 100lbs worth of suitcase space. Are you allowed to ship things over there? Or are the prices for that really exorbitant?

    • Salazar says:

      Oh yeah, I definitely have to ship my books… not via USPS though, it’s too expensive. And I’m asking my Vietnamese friends here to take some stuff and bring it back to me when they come home to visit.

  5. Megan says:

    Wow, you did an amazing job with that cardigan! The color is beautiful on you… and you didn’t have to spend any money 🙂

  6. Cortney A. says:

    I’m starting to think you have some of most wonderful prints in your wardrobe! All the detail shots of your prints are making me wish I had some more prints in my closet!

    And wonderful dye job on that cardigan! It looks so much better!


Leave a Reply

