Weekend Round-Up #52

Hooray for a full year of Weekend Round-ups!

LINKS OF THE WEEK:

– Ulyana Sergeenko’s Spring 2012 collection is just as gorgeous as her debut. I wish I could dress like that every day (via Honestly WTF.)

– I firmly maintain that leggings are not pants, but if you want classy ways to style yours, Refinery29 has some suggestions.

– A cute video from FabSugar on 10 ways to wear a basic white button-down shirt (I call them button-up, but never mind.)

– Spring has official arrived, so here’s a nice round-up of all the spring trends. I’m not crazy about a few of them, but the pleats and the Roaring Twenties? I’m so there.

– Cate Blanchett goes un-Photoshopped for a magazine cover and still looks gorgeous.

– A DIY: remember that pink Lauren Moffatt coat from last season, with the Navajo-inspired arrows at the bottom? Now the lovely Merrick of Merrick’s Art has a stencil tutorial for you.

– Finally, for sh*ts and giggles: otters who look like Benedict Cumberbatch, and koalas who look like David Mitchell. Let’s all say “aww” together, shall we?

BLOG OF THE WEEK: Unusual Form by Kara (have you noticed how many bloggers have names that start with a K?) I love Kara’s professional but still fun style, plus she’s kind of a thrifting queen.

BOOK OF THE WEEK: “The Door in the Hedge” (Robin McKinley). This is one of Robin McKinley’s fairytale books; it has four short stories – two original fairy tales and two re-told ones of “The Princess and the Frog” and “The Twelve Dancing Princesses.” I have to say, I’m not impressed. After reading this as well as her other fairytale retell (Beauty) and comparing them to her non-fairytale book (Sunshine), I think my problem with Robin McKinley’s fairy tales is that she goes wide rather than deep with her writing. She adds physical and descriptive details to make the story longer, but she doesn’t actually do anything new or interesting with the characters or the original plot. Even though I haven’t read her best-selling fairy tale (Spindle’s End, a retelling of Sleeping Beauty), I’d say that when it comes to retelling fairy tales, I much prefer something like Neil Gaiman’s Snow, Glass, Apple.

SONG OF THE WEEK: “Safe and Sound” (Taylor Swift ft. The Civil Wars). Not my kind of music at all, but this is because I just went to see The Hunger Games yesterday. I quite enjoyed it, but I had a bit of trouble getting into the story at first. I think I would’ve liked it more had I read the books (I will, one day.) Anyway, very well-done movie, and a good song.

3 Comments on “Weekend Round-Up #52”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    You need to read The Hunger Games! I was really excited to see the movie because I’ve read all the books. šŸ™‚ At least read them before the second movie? šŸ™‚

    Also, I totally bought that Taylor Swift song last week!

  2. Megan says:

    I wish I had read The Hunger Games! I really want to see the movie but feel like I should quickly read the series before I do.

    I am liking that Taylor Swift song, she’s usually not my cup of tea (though I think she’s adorable!) but this song is really pretty.

  3. Thanks for featuring me as your blog of the week!


Leave a Reply

