Rhinestone Cowboy

This outfit makes me feel a bit like a cowgirl, probably because of the combination of plaid, boots, and rhinestones. Also, apparently it’s unofficial plaid week here in 14 Shades of Grey.

Off-topic question: anybody can give me some advice on getting a Kindle? Is it worth it to buy it used? I’m finally buckling down and thinking about getting one. It’s because once I move home, English books will be hard to come by, and I don’t want to have to reread my old books. I’m not looking for anything fancy, just something that allows me to read books and PDF files. Any thought/suggestion would be welcome!

Shirt: Forever21, Dress: Gap (thrifted)
Boots: Target, Boot socks & Bracelets: self-made

7 Comments on “Rhinestone Cowboy”

  1. I love my Kindle! I don’t know much about buying them used, but I have the most basic one they sell (only $80), and it’s great. Definitely worth it! 🙂

  2. Cortney A. says:

    I have a friend who has a Kindle and really really loves it. She actually (nearly) convinced me to get one. I’m still holding out (barely) though. 🙂

    Also–I like how this turned out! I don’t think it looks very cowgirl/cowboy at all. 🙂

  3. Megan says:

    Love the plaid! I have never used a Kindle but my mom got one for Christmas and loves it 🙂

  4. Loren says:

    I always love cowboy boots with summer dresses! It’s such a fun combo. I always feel like I am headed to a Kelly Clarkson concert when I wear it, but I still love it.

    I have the newer Kindle Touch and I totally love it. I’d say it’s worth the couple extra bucks for the ‘G3 version’ I’ve never downloaded a book somewhere that I had Wireless access. But the ‘Ads’ they show when it is turned off are pretty subtle I don’t mind them at all I didn’t spring for that.
    Also, if you are a note taker you might want to get the one with keyboard, it’s not that much bigger and the touch screen on my Kindle is nearly impossible to type on. I hardly ever use it but I know plenty of people who love writing in the margins.

  5. Caroline says:

    I don’t think your outfit looks cowgirl at all. But it inspired me to wear my plaid dress with my boots today. I think I look like a cowgirl! 🙂

    I’ve always been against a kindle for me, as I like checking out books from the library, etc. BUT if I didn’t have a library, then a kindle would be a great option! So it sounds like it would be for you. My friend recently got the least expensive kindle, and she really likes it – easy to read, easy to use, etc. She highly recommends it.

  6. Jess says:

    Here’s what I have to say about the Kindle specifically in regard to library books. You can kind of cheat the system regarding ebook checkout (if your public library has ebooks) because you do it from home, so even if you’re back in Vietnam, as long as you can access your library’s website and Amazon’s website, you can receive library ebooks. I don’t know what international situations are like regarding ebooks, but I would be surprised if they’re as advanced as the American situation is. In terms of ereaders in general, I like the Kindle. It’s easy to use and there’s no eye strain and works outside. It holds a charge (I haven’t tested it to see if it lasts as long as Amazon says it does) well. The only thing I don’t like about it is that every time you change the page–from home to a book, for example, or from one page of the book to another–the screen flashes black as the e-ink reconfigures. That bugs me. But otherwise, it’s a pretty good e-reader.


Leave a Reply

